George Strait releases new hits collection Friday

Cover art for George Strait’s “Strait Out of the Box: 2.” (Image Courtesy of MCA Nashville)Cover art for George Strait’s “Strait Out of the Box: 2.” (Image Courtesy of MCA Nashville)

Country legend George Strait is releasing a new hits collection, titled “Strait Out of the Box: Part 2,” Friday, Nov. 18.

The set features 56 songs picked from throughout his career, including 36 singles and 26 number ones. The collection will also have two brand new songs, both co-written by Strait.

The 64-year-old Strait said putting the hits collection together gave him a sense of nostalgia.

“Going back through all the songs for this box set does bring back a lot of old memories,” Strait said on his website. “A lot of them we considered for radio singles and for whatever reason, we just picked something else. It was not that hard to pick them after I looked through them because there are just so many that are my favorites.”

The album is available for preorder exclusively through Walmart or Strait’s website.

The album track list by disc includes:

Disc One (1996-2000)

1. Blue Clear Sky
2. Carried Away
3. Rockin’ In The Arms Of Your Memory
4. I Can Still Make Cheyenne
5. Round About Way
6. Carrying Your Love With Me
7. One Night At A Time
8. Today My World Slipped Away
9. The Nerve
10. I Just Want To Dance With You
11. True
12. Maria
13. We Really Shouldn’t Be Doing This
14. Meanwhile 
15. Write This Down
16. The Best Day
17. Looking Out My Window Through The Pain
18. Go On

Disc Two (2001-2008)

1. She’ll Leave You With A Smile
2. Run
3. Living and Living Well
4. My Life’s Been Grand
5. Cowboys Like Us
6. Desperately
7. Four Down and Twelve Across
8. I Hate Everything
9. Seashores of Old Mexico
10. She Let Herself Go
11. Give It Away
12. Wrapped
13. It Just Comes Natural
14. Texas Cookin’
15. How ’Bout Them Cowgirls
16. Come On Joe
17. Troubadour
18. River Of Love
19. I Saw God Today 

Disc Three (2009-2016)

1. Living For The Night
2. Out Of Sight Out Of Mind
3. Arkansas Dave
4. Love’s Gonna Make It Alright
5. Drinkin’ Man
6. Shame On Me
7. Here For A Good Time
8. House Across The Bay
9. Blue Marlin Blues
10. I’ll Always Remember You
11. Give It All We Got Tonight
12. I Just Can’t Go On Dying Like This
13. That’s What Breaking Hearts Do
14. The Night Is Young
15. I Believe
16. Goin’ Goin’ Gone
17. Everything I See
18. Kicked Outta Country (new song)
19. You Gotta Go Through Hell (new song)