Want to drive flatbed? Here are top companies

Driving flatbed/oversize/heavy haul is challenging and difficult. It also can be lucrative.

Flatbed drivers often have to pay more attention to cargo on their trailers, and usually have the added responsibility of ensuring it is properly secured. Often, the loads they carry can be larger, heavier or more difficult to handle than what may fit easily in an enclosed trailer.

flatbedDriving flatbed can be demanding and rewarding work.

Each year Commercial Carrier Journal compiles a list of the top trucking companies in the U.S. here are the flatbed/specialized/heavy haul specialty companies part of this year’s Top 250 (Company, location, number of drivers, website.) There are, of course, many other companies that offer flatbedding opportunities, but these are among the largest.

43. Anderson Trucking Services, Saint Cloud, Minn., 2,519 drivers, www.atsinc.com

44. Daseke, Clayton, Ala., 2,913 drivers, www.daseke.com

46. Acme Truck Line, Gretna, La., 2,900, www.acmetruck.com

47. Lone Star Transportation, Forth Worth, Texas, 2,766 drivers, www.lonestar-llc.com

61. TMC Transportation/Annett Holdings, Inc., Des Moines, Iowa, 2,280 drivers, www.tmctrans.com

66. Bennett International Group, McDonough, Ga., 2,723 drivers, www.bennettig.com

77. United Vision Logistics Holding Corp., Lafayette, La., 2,054 drivers, www.uvlogistics.com

80. Maverick USA, Inc., Little Rock, Ark., 1,439 drivers, www.maverickusa.com

91. Melton Truck Lines, Inc., Tulsa, Okla., 1,132 drivers, www.meltontruck.com

110. P & S Transportation, Inc., Birmingham, Ala., 1,008 drivers, www.pstransportinc.com

120. PGT Trucking, Inc., Monoca, Pa., 882 drivers, www.pgtrucking.com

131. American Eagle Logistics, Inc. Lafayette, La., 845 drivers

151. Gypsum Express, Ltd., Baldwinsville, NY, 650 drivers, www.gypsumexpress.com

152. Transport Investments, Inc., Pittsburg, Pa., 701 drivers, www.theii.com

158. Tennessee Steel Haulers, Inc., Nashville, Tenn., 674 drivers, www.tenh.com

160. Admiral Merchants Motor Freight, Inc., Minneapolis, Minn., 625 drivers, www.ammf.com

173. Williams Brothers Trucking, Inc., Hazlehurst, Ga., 595 drivers, www.wbtus.com

178. Combined Transport, Inc., Central Point, Ore., 472 drivers, www.combinedtransport.com

184. P I & I Motor Express, Inc., Sharon, Penn., 590 drivers, www.piimx.com

186. McElroy Truck Lines, Inc.,  Cuba, Ala., 572 drivers, www.mcelroytrucklines.com

202. Cypress Truck Lines, Inc., Jacksonvile, Fla., 405 drivers, www.cypresstruck.com

211. Fraley & Schilling, Inc., Rushville, Ind., 438 drivers, www.fraleyandschilling.com

226. C.T.I. Inc., Coal City, Ill., 425 drivers, www.cardinaltransport.inc

241. Miller Truck Lines, Inc. Stroud, Okla., 450 drivers, www.millertrucklines.com