Briefly: Baltimore updates truck routes after I-695 bridge collapse

Portion of Baltimore truck routes map
City of Baltimore DOT

Screenshot 2024 03 28 At 10 47 00 AmIn order to minimize the impact of traffic changes caused by the collapse of the Francis Scott Key Bridge earlier this week, the Baltimore City Department of Transportation is modifying its official truck map, which details how truck drivers may use Baltimore City roads and highways. 

The city asks that truckers refer to the GIS map for the most up-to-date route information at Baltimore City Official Truck Routes. Truckers are encouraged to continue checking this official map in the coming days as additional modifications may be made. 

The Maryland DOT State Highway Administration and Maryland Transportation Authority have shifted the outer loop Interstate 695 closure since it began Tuesday. The outer loop I-695 closure has now shifted to exit 1/Quarantine Road (past the Curtis Creek Drawbridge) to allow for more local traffic access. The outer loop was previously closed at Maryland 10 (exit 2). The inner loop of I-695 remains closed at MD 157 (Peninsula Expressway). Additionally, the ramp from MD 157 to the inner loop of I-695 will be closed. 

Commercial vehicles carrying oversize cargo or hazmat should plan on using I-695 (Baltimore Beltway) between Essex and Glen Burnie, which will add significant driving time, Maryland DOT said.

3 finalists named for logistics award

The Women In Trucking Association announced today three finalists for the 2024 Distinguished Woman in Logistics Award (DWLA). Sponsored by the Transportation Intermediaries Association (TIA) and Truckstop, the award promotes the achievements of women employed in the North American transportation industry. 

This year’s finalists are

  • Sherri Garner Brumbaugh, president and CEO, Garner Trucking, Inc
  • Ramona Hood, president and CEO, FedEx Custom Critical, Inc.
  • Sarah Ruffcorn, president, Trinity Logistics.

The award highlights the crucial roles of leading women in the dynamic and influential field of commercial transportation and logistics, which encompasses logistics service providers as well as motor carriers. 

The winner of the 2024 award will be announced during the TIA Capital Ideas Conference and Exhibition April 11 in Phoenix. 

Garner Brumbaugh has more than 33 years of experience in the trucking industry, beginning her career at her family-owned and operated truckload carrier in 1991. She became owner of Garner Trucking, Inc. in 2012. This year, Garner celebrates 64 years in the industry.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
BlueParrott B350-XT
Presented by BlueParrott
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

Garner Brumbaugh has served the industry as a board member for The American Trucking Association, the Ohio Trucking Association, and Indiana Motor Truck Association. She also served on the advisory committee on human trafficking for the Federal Department of Transportation. 

Hood is president and CEO of FedEx Custom Critical. She began her career with FedEx in 1991 in an entry-level position and worked her way up to hold various executive leadership positions at FedEx Custom Critical and FedEx Supply Chain.

Hood has been recognized for her excellence in thought leadership, responsibility, and passion-driven results. A few specific recognitions include Crain’s Cleveland 2022 Power 150 list, Business Insider’s powerful women leading top logistics companies in 2021 and service on the Brinker International Board of Directors noting her deep experience in sales, operations, supply chain, marketing, and talent management to promote growth and brand differentiation. Most recently, she was appointed to the Knight Foundation Board of Trustees due to the impact she has made on the Akron-area community as a business leader. 

Ruffcorn, president of Trinity Logistics, a Burris Logistics Company, is responsible for leading the freight solutions company arranging freight for businesses of all sizes.

She joined Trinity Logistics in 2002 following completion of her Bachelor of Arts in Organizational Communications from Western Illinois University. She has continued her education with programs focused on strategy, finance, and leadership including attending the Wharton School of Business.

Ruffcorn currently serves on the Transportation Intermediaries Association Board of Directors, TIA’s Women in Logistics Committee, and Tidal Health Medical Partners Board of Directors. 

Members of the judging panel include Brent Hutto, chief relationship officer, Truckstop; Anne Reinke, president and CEO, TIA; Dr. Stephanie S. Ivey, associate dean for research and professor, Herff College of Engineering; Erin Van Zeeland, chief commercial officer/senior vice president and general manager-logistics, Schneider and winner of the 2023 DWLA; and Jennifer Hedrick, president and CEO, WIT. 


Driver Poll: What makes you want to hang up on a recruiter?

Remodeled, updated NYS Thruway service area in Warners reopens

3 drivers named TCA's Highway Angels of the Year for their heroism