TCA awards $168,000 in scholarships; first time for 2-year college students

Mortarboard on money

The Truckload Carriers Association recently named its 2024-25 TCA Scholarship Fund recipients who collectively will be receiving a total of $168,000.

 Since 1973, the Fund has been providing scholarships to students associated with the trucking industry. Each scholarship recipient must be a student in good standing attending a four-year or two-year college or university and must be associated with a TCA member company.

 "TCA Scholarship Fund program is one of the best initiatives included in a TCA membership that helps to pay forward the honor of being a part of the truckload industry," said  Scholarship Fund Chairman Joey Hogan of Covenant. "We were proud to be able to increase the dollar awards by 25% even in a time of economic difficulty which exemplifies the priority of this program by the association. The Fund is excited to award scholarships to students at two-year colleges for the first time this year and we are very excited to continue to grow the program."

Endowed named scholarships to four-year university recipients Include:

  •  Jay Freeman, Werner Enterprises, Inc., NAIT Scholarship – $6,250
  •  Joe Smith III, Bar S Logistics, Inc., John Kaburick Scholarship – $4,500
  •  Isabella Yust, CFI, Kai Norris Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Kaur Kamaljit, Bison Transport, Darrel Clark Wilson III Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Joshua Short, Cargo Transporters, Inc., Thomas Welby Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Kalee O’Brien, Paschall Truck Lines, Inc., Stoney Reese Stubbs Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Kaden Buatte, Prime Inc., Robert Low Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Speranza Albensi, Bison Transportation, Robert D. Penner Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Ceira Lynch, Bison Transport, Thomas R. Schilli Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Gitali Jain, NFI Interactive Logistics, Thomas R. Schilli Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Morgan Munyan, NFI Interactive Logistics, Keith Tuttle Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Jack Rodgers, Don Hummer Trucking Corp, Tom Kretsinger, Jr. Scholarship – $3,250
  •  Maxwell Marten, Marten Transport, Ltd., Bill Giroux Scholarship - $3,250
  •  Alexandra Wayne. Brown Trucking Co., Bill Giroux Scholarship - $3,250
  •  Michael Henretty Jr., Werner Enterprises, Inc., Bill Giroux Scholarship - $3,250

Four-year university scholarship recipients of $2,725 were:

  • Martina Tolhurst β€” Bison Transport
  • Trace Harrington β€” Prime Inc.
  • Samuel Amanual β€” Kriska Holdings
  • Madeline Falknor β€” Fremont Contract Carriers, Inc.
  • Ava Loch β€” Garner Trucking, Inc.
  • Asa Weil β€” Epes Transport System, LLC
  • Logan Dudley β€” Knight-Swift Transportation
  • Jake Gross β€” Northern Logistics
  • Tanner Mihm β€” Werner Enterprises, Inc.
  • Tyler Waszak β€” Werner Enterprises, Inc.
  • Hayden Twining β€” Garner Trucking, Inc.
  • Gurjaan Rai β€” Bison Transport
  • Jennifer Miranda β€” Tucker Freight Lines
  • Jessica Bell β€” Roadmaster Drivers School Inc.
  • Jordan Evans β€” TVC Pro-Driver
  • Amy Pitzel β€” Bison Transport
  • Katie Pulliam β€” Greater Omaha Express, LLC
  • Theresa Stephens β€” McLeod Software
  • Connor Gates β€” Prime Inc.
  • Zamariya Fullwood β€” NFI Interactive Logistics
  • Olivia Thompson β€” Cheema Freightlines, LLC
  • Jorkaeff Nogales β€” Bennett Motor Express, LLC
  • Kevin White β€” Prime Inc.
  • Grace Rittenour β€” Thomas E. Keller Trucking, Inc.
  • Caleb Moore β€” J.J. Keller & Associates, Inc.
  • Cameron Emmer β€” J.J. Keller & Associates, Inc.
  • Molly Nugent β€” PS Logistics
  • Kristi Kottke β€” Kottke Trucking Inc.
  • Nicholas Farrell β€” Load One, LLC
  • Gianna Terrarosa β€” GES
  • Danielle Sanchez β€” Prime Inc.
  • Annika Waltenberg β€” Bison Transport
  • Chase Norris β€” NFI Interactive Logistics
  • Anagha Menon β€” NFI Interactive Logistics
  • Dylan Regan β€” Werner Enterprises, Inc.
  • Nathaniel Linkous β€” W&B Service Company
  • Dylan Spivy β€” Wilson Logistics ($1,295 awarded)

 Two-year college scholarship recipients of $2,000 included:

  •  Kinley Porter β€” Maverick USA, Inc.
  • Carson Kunze β€” Grand Island Express, Inc.
  • Robert Tolhurst β€” Bison Transport
  • Ashlynn Lindsay β€” Load One, LLC
  • Katherine Berry β€” Hogan Transports, Inc.
  • Carson Holzwarth β€” Roehl Transport Inc.
  • Lucas Brooks β€” Givens Transportation Inc.
  • Alanna Severson β€” Marten Transport, Ltd.

The application process was managed by the Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges. A selection committee, established by OFIC, scored the applicants, taking into considering the applicant’s GPA, major, extracurricular activities, hours worked, and more.

 To learn more about the TCA Scholarship Fund, or for information on how you can donate visit