Pistol Annies back with third album ‘Interstate Gospel’


Pistol Annies, the high-powered country band featuring Ashley Monroe, Angaleena Presley,  and Miranda Lambert, is back with its third album, Interstate Gospel.

In announcing the new album, the band’s website said, “Moving from celebratory anthems, classic country storytelling, and vibey swagger, the Grammy-nominated trio are back and sounding Annie-er than ever.”

The new album follows ‘s 2013’s Annie Up, and the group’s 2011 debut Hell On Heels, which went gold.

All of the songs on Interstate Gospel were written by Lambert, Monroe, and Presley, except “This Too Shall Pass,” which is written by Monroe and Presley.

“… from the housewife harmony blues on ‘Best Years of My Life’ to Lambert’s haunting post-divorce balladry on ‘Masterpiece,’ (the new album) is a sharply-rendered sketch of bruised hearts and shaken souls that amounts to the group’s most moving work to date,” wrote Jonathan Bernstein in Rolling Stone.

Tracks include:

  1. Interstate Prelude
  2. Stop Drop and Roll One
  3. Best Years of My Life
  4. 5 Acres of Turnips
  5. When I Was His Wife
  6. Cheyenne
  7. Got My Name Changed Back
  8. Sugar Daddy
  9. Leavers Lullaby
  10. Milkman
  11. Commissary
  12. Masterpiece
  13. Interstate Gospel
  14. This Too Shall Pass