Music: CD showcases Texas musicians

Filmed in front of a live audience, the TV show The Texas Music Scene captures performances by a variety of artists from the Lone Star State. This CD, which arrives Saturday (Jan. 10) is packed with Texas-style Americana and country tunes. Featured are artists artists including Jack Ingram, Kevin Fowler, Wade Bowen, Bruce Robison and Kelly Willis, Reckless Kelly, Dale Watson, Roger Creager, Cody Canada & The Departed, The Band of Heathens, Whiskey Myers and Jason Boland & the Stragglers. But, no Texas musical showcase would be complete without Asleep at the Wheel. In fact, the Wheel’s Ray Benson hosts the show. $10.99 at Amazon. This is labeled “Volume 1” so expect more Texas treasures to come. Cuts include:

    • Tonight We Ride – Micky & the Motorcars
    • Motor City Man – Bruce Robison & Kelly Willis
    • I Lie When I Drink – Dale Watson
    • Shreveport to New Orleans – Roger Creager
    • Saturday Night – Wade Bowen
    • Miss My Life – The Band of Heathens
    • Song of Lime Juice and Despair – Shinyribs
    • The Last Good Bye – Reckless Kelly
    • Hanging Around – William Clark Green
    • Dogwood – Whiskey Myers
    • If I Could Make a Livin’ Drinkin’ – Kevin Fowler
    • Higher Than Willie and Jonesin’ For Haggard – Jack Ingram
    • Inbetweener – Cody Canada and The Departed
    • Little Late For Loving Me Now – Will Sexton
    • Electric Bill – Jason Boland & the Stragglers
    • Boogie Back To Texas – Asleep at the Wheel