Cyndi Lauper releases country album

Cover art for Cyndi Lauper’s “Detour” (Image Courtesy of Amazon)

Cyndi Lauper probably isn’t the first artist you think of when you think of country music, but the 80s pop star explores the genre on her appropriately named new album, “Detour.”

The album includes Lauper’s covers of classic country songs from the 1940-60s. She recorded the album in Nashville and collaborated with country musicians Willie Nelson, Alison Krauss, Vince Gill and Emmylou Harris.

“When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music, so this is what we grew up listening to,” Lauper said on her website. “These songs are part of some of my earliest memories.”

Cyndi Lauper’s “Detour” is available for purchase from Amazon here and iTunes here

The album’s track list:

1. Funnel of Love

2. Detour featuring Emmylou Harris

3. Misty Blue

4. Walkin’ After Midnight

5. Heartaches By The Number

6. The End Of The World

7. Night Life with Willie Nelson

8. Begging To You

9. You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly featuring Vince Gill

10. I Fall To Pieces

11. I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart with Jewel

12. Hard Candy Christmas with Alison Krauss