Nominations sought for CVSA’s safe driving award

Updated Sep 20, 2018
CVSA logo

A leading commercial motor vehicle safety organization seeks nominations for its annual award recognizing professional drivers.

The Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance awards its annual International Driver Excellence Award (IDEA) to recognize the exceptional careers of professional commercial motor vehicle drivers and their commitment to public safety.

2018 IDEA winner Herschel Evans2018 IDEA winner Herschel Evans

The award is open to large truck and motorcoach drivers from Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Nominees do not have to be a member of or affiliated with CVSA to apply.

In order to be eligible, the nominee must have:

  • At least 25 cumulative years of crash-free driving in a commercial motor vehicle with a clean driving record for the past three years
  • No felony convictions
  • No safety-related driving suspensions in the past three years
  • No driver violations in the past three years, excluding form and manner violations

“As commercial motor vehicle inspectors, we encounter numerous safety conscious commercial drivers every day,” said CVSA President Capt. Christopher Turner with the Kansas Highway Patrol. “Yet, we realize that commercial drivers can sometimes be under-appreciated and their commitment to safety may go unrecognized. That’s why we, at CVSA, felt it was so important to support and acknowledge the hard work, notable accomplishments and long-term safety record of one extraordinary commercial motor vehicle driver each year.”

The deadline to submit the 2019 IDEA nomination form is Dec. 14.

The IDEA winner will be announced in March. The winner and a guest will be invited to attend the 2019 CVSA Workshop in St. Louis in April. They will receive a check for $2,500 and a crystal trophy during the event’s general session.

Learn more about the 2019 International Driver Excellence Award and download the nomination form.