Schedule for state driving competitions set; finals in Indianapolis

Updated Feb 9, 2020
2019’s national champion Scott Woodrome2019’s national champion Scott Woodrome

Truckers from around the country will have plenty of opportunities to test their driving skills at state competitions leading up to the 2020 National Truck Driving Championships and National Step Van Driving Championships in Indianapolis, Aug. 19-22. The competition is presented by the American Trucking Associations.

A driver from Ohio repeated as the Bendix Grand Champion at last year’s national championships in Pittsburgh. Scott Woodrome, a 56-year-old driver from Middletown, Ohio representing team FedEx Freight, won the title. A total of 427 drivers competed in the contest.

This year’s state competitions, their dates and locations include:

State Date Location
Louisiana March 27-28 Baton Rouge
Mississippi April 24-25 Gulfport
South Carolina April 24-25 Columbia
Tennessee April 24-25 Antioch
Nevada April 25 North Las Vegas
Arizona May 2 Tempe
Georgia May 8-9 Buford
North Carolina May 8-9 Raleigh
Kentucky May 14-16 Sparta
Idaho May 15 Meridian
Ohio May 15-16 Sandusky
Virginia May 15-16 Chesapeake
Delaware May 16 Harrington
Maine May 16 Hermon
South Dakota May 16 Sioux Falls
Wisconsin May 16 Appleton
Alabama May 29 Pelham
Missouri May 29-30 Branson
Nebraska May 29-30 Grand Island
New Hampshire May 30 Pembroke
Vermont May 30 Pembroke, New Hampshire
New Mexico May 30 Albuquerque
Massachusetts May 31 North Andover
Florida June 4-6 Daytona
Alaska June 5-6 Anchorage
Indiana June 5-6 Indianapolis
Michigan June 5-6 Lansing
New York June 5-6 Syracuse
Oklahoma June 5-6 Oklahoma City
Utah June 5-6 Salt Lake City
Texas June 5-6 Waco
Colorado June 6 Brighton
Maryland June 6 Timonium
North Dakota June 6 Fargo
Rhode Island June 6 Pawtucket
Iowa June 11-12 Altoona
Arkansas June 11-13 Rogers
Illinois June 12-13 Bloomington
Pennsylvania June 12-13 Pocono Manor
California June 12-14 Fontana
Minnesota June 12-14 Coon Rapids
Connecticut June 13 TBD
Montana June 13 Helena
Oregon June 13 Portland
West Virginia June 13 Nitro
Wyoming June 13 Cheyenne
Kansas June 18-20 Topeka
New Jersey June 26-27 Atlantic City
Hawaii TBD TBD
Washington TBD TBD