Thinking of driving refrigerated? These are the top carriers

Reefers in a row

Some companies call it “temperature-sensitive” or “temperature-controlled,” while others simply call it “refrigerated.” Often, it’s shortened to just “reefer.”

But, call it what you will, hauling cargo that needs to be in a temperature-controlled environment — usually produce, dairy and other foods and beverages — can be a rewarding type of trucking. It comes with its own special challenges — especially time constraints — but it also can mean consistent employment opportunities.

Each year Trucker’s News’ sister publication Commercial Carrier Journal reviews trucking companies and creates its Top 250 ranking. These are the leading firms specializing in refrigerated service on the list.

(Note: many other companies, especially some of the biggest, have refrigerated divisions, so you may wish to check those out as well.)

16. Prime, Springfield, Mo. 7,400 drivers, www.primeinc.com

21. C.R. England, West Valley City, Utah, 6,895 drivers, www.crengland.com

39. KLLM Transport Services, Richland, Miss. drivers NA, www.kllm.com

50. Marten Transport Ltd., Mondovi, Wisc., 2501 drivers, www.marten.com

54. Stevens Transport Inc., Dallas, Texas, 2,589 drivers, www.stevenstransport.com

92. Trans Am Trucking, Olathe, Kan., 1,148 drivers, www.transamtruck.com

102. May Trucking Co., Salem, Ore. 1,093 drivers, wwww.maytrucking.com

114. Hirschbach Motor Lines, East Dubuque, Ill., 830 drivers, www.hirschbach.com

122. John Christner Trucking, Sapulpa, Okla., 734 drivers, www.johnchristner.com

123. Navajo Express, Denver, Colo., 750 drivers, www.navajoexpress.com

137. National Carriers, Liberal, Kan., 680 drivers, www.nationalcarriers.com

148. K & B Transportation, South Sioux City, Neb. 658 drivers, www.kbtransportation.com

165. JBS Carriers, Greeley, Colo., 571 drivers, www.jbscarriers.com

176. J & R Schugel Trucking, New Ulm, Minn., 566 drivers, www.jrschugel.com

197. WEL Companies Inc., DePere, Wisc., 475 drivers, www.welcompanies.com

201. Pride Transport Inc., Salt Lake City, Utah, 471 drivers, www.pridetransport.com

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

204. R.E. Garrison Trucking, Cullman, Ala., 513 drivers, www.regarrison.com

214. Freymiller Inc., Oklahoma City, Okla., 489 drivers, www.freymiller.com

218. Heyl Truck Lines, Akron, Iowa, 435 drivers, www.heyl.net

239. Lessors Inc., Eagan, Minn., 416 drivers, www.lessorsinc.com

242. Earl Henderson Trucking, Salem, Ill., 450 drivers, www.hendersontrucking.com

243. H & R Transport Ltd., Lethbridge, Alberta, 450 drivers, www.hrtrans.com