Coalition names its safety award winners

The Truck Safety Coalition on Wednesday, May 11, announced its safety award winners. The honorees were chosen for their “commitment and dedication to fleet safety,” according to a Truck Safety Coalition news release.

The coalition is comprised of Citizens for Reliable and Safe Highways and Parents Against Tired Truckers.

The award winners are:

  • Distinguished Safety Leadership Award: Greer Woodruff, senior vice president of safety, security and driver personnel for J.B. Hunt Transport Services. Woodruff was recognized for J.B. Hunt’s implementation of 4,000 Wabash trailers with rear underride protections and the use of telematics to monitor driving behaviors. He was also recognized for the company’s drug testing procedures.
  • Truck Safety Leadership Award: Reggie Dupre, CEO of Dupre Logistics and Steve Williams, CEO of Maverick USA. Dupre was recognized for Dupre Logistics’ driver training program and fatigue management plan, including hourly pay for many of the company’s drivers. Williams was recognized for his company’s use of collision avoidance technologies, his advocacy for electronic logs and his opposition to larger truck sizes and weights.