18 new Road Team Captains chosen

America’s Road Team Group Photo 2019-2020

Eighteen company drivers are members of the 2019-2020 class of America’s Road Team Captains.

Chosen by the American Trucking Associations, the captains act as industry ambassadors to the public, elected officials and the media.

The new Road Team Captains include:

  • William C. Bennett III, UPS Freight, Maytown, Pennsylvania
  • Sammy Brewster, ABF Freight, Powder Springs, Georgia
  • Jorge Chavez, Jetco Delivery, Houston, Texas
  • Timothy Chelette, Big G Express, Murfreesboro, Tennessee
  • James Clark, Penske Logistics, Otter Lake, Michigan
  • April Coolidge, Walmart Transportation, Mint Hill, North Carolina
  • Scott Davis, ABF Freight, Kearney, Missouri
  • Douglas Frombaugh, FedEx Freight, Carlisle, Pennsylvania
  • William Goins, Old Dominion, Cloverdale, Indiana
  • Billy Hambrick, Werner Enterprises, Yoder, Wyoming
  • Russell James, YRC Freight, Bonner, Montana
  • Gary Martin, FedEx Ground, Galt, California
  • William McNamee, Carbon Express, Christopher, Illinois
  • Tina Peterson, FedEx Ground, Blaine, Minnesota
  • Theldorine “Dee” Sova, Prime Inc., Sacramento, California
  • Ronald Vandermark, UPS Freight, Delran, New Jersey
  • Nicolette Weaver, FedEx Freight, New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania
  • Todd Wilemon, ABF Freight, Fulton, Mississippi

The drivers will work full-time for their companies, appearing on behalf of ATA anywhere from three to five days per month. The new captains will tour the country in ATA’s Interstate One Image Truck, an American flag emblazoned Volvo VNL 760, featuring a truck driving simulator and mobile classroom.

“These drivers represent the diverse experiences of the 3.5 million professional drivers across the country and will be able to bring their unique stories to new, critical audiences as part of America’s Road Team,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear.

The Road Team Captains program was established in 1986.

ATA held its final round of selections earlier this week in Arlington, Virginia. The drivers were judged on their ability to express their knowledge of the industry, their skills in effective communication about safety and transportation, and their overall safe-driving record. The panel of judges included trucking executives and trade press.