Tank truck driver award to be given next May


Officials with the National Tank Truck Carriers announced that the 2019-2020 Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year program has been suspended due to the COVID-19 coronavirus pandemic. A grand champion from the current eight finalists will be named at the organization’s 2021 annual conference May 2-4 in San Diego.

The 2019-2020 champion finalists are:

  • Ronald Baird, Hoffman Transportation/G&D Trucking
  • James W Ellis, Sr, Grammer Industries
  • Ronald Evans, Liquid Cargo
  • Darrien Henderson, J & M Tank Lines
  • Alen Smailovic, Highway Transport
  • Abdul Standfield, Quality Carriers
  • Edward Stasyshyn, Trimac Transportation
  • Tony Stinnett, Usher Transport

“This year’s prestigious award was to have been presented in May this year at our 75th anniversary celebration in Washington D.C., which was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Ryan Streblow, NTTC executive vice-president. “I realize that this difficult decision was a disappointment for the entire association, particularly the fine individuals in our finalist group.”