36 drivers in running to be next America's Road Team Captains

Updated Nov 22, 2021
181029 Content1

American Trucking Associations unveiled the list of 36 professional truck drivers named as finalists for the 2022-2023 term of America’s Road Team.

The finalists have a combined total of 75 million safe-driving miles and 923 years as professional truck drivers. They hail from 21 different states, haul a diverse assortment of products and materials, and range from short-haul drivers to over-the-road drivers operating in all of the lower 48 states. The finalists represent a cross-section of the industry with experience ranging from four years to 43 years as professional truck drivers with anywhere from nearly 400,000 to 3.9 million safe driving miles.

The finalists are: 

  • James Alvarez, United Parcel Service, Darien, Illinois
  • Peggy Arnold, Yellow, Manchester, Tennessee
  • Terry Bennett, ABF Freight System, Gainesville, Florida
  • Bob Bramwell, ABF Freight System, Centerview, Missouri
  • Michael Buck, Yellow, Moore, Oklahoma
  • Teddy Butler, ABF Freight System, Hampton, Georgia
  • Kevin Byrnes, United Parcel Service, Sparta, New Jersey
  • Robbie Cottrel, XPO Logistics, Bedford, Virginia
  • Jesus Davila, Werner Enterprises, San Antonio, Texas
  • Ken Duncan, Walmart Transportation, Gorham, Maine
  • James Ellis, Grammer Logistics, Erwin, North Carolina
  • Lalo Fernandez, FedEx Freight, Battle Ground, Oregon
  • Richard Frazer, Yellow, Rockford, Illinois
  • Charlie Fuller, FedEx Freight, Pembroke Pines, Florida
  • Ritch Fundell, FedEx Freight, Tonica, Illinois
  • Salvador Gonzalez, TForce Freight, Ocala, Florida
  • Darrien Henderson, J&M Tank Lines Inc., Mobile, Alabama
  • John Henderson, TCW Inc., Lebanon, Tennessee
  • Lloyd Howell, TCW Inc., Birmingham, Alabama
  • Gina Jones, Werner Enterprises, Peoria, Arizona
  • Dean Key, Ruan Transportation Management Systems, Primghar, Iowa
  • Glen Allen Kirk, Old Dominion Freight Line, Franklin, Indiana
  • William Kling, Old Dominion Freight Line, Elliottsburg, Pennsylvania
  • Jon Matthew-George Mason, Old Dominion Freight Line, Newport, Michigan
  • Eddie Moody, Werner Enterprises, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Jeffrey Mundis, TForce Freight, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
  • Scott Post, FedEx Ground, Maplewood, Minnesota
  • Jeff Rose, Yellow, Creston, Ohio
  • Ron Round, Pottle’s Transportation LLC, Enfield, Maine
  • David Schroeder, FedEx Freight, Bellaire, Ohio
  • Eric Stein, Werner Enterprises Inc., Canajoharie, New York
  • PJ Singh, Penske Logistics, Stockton, California
  • Derrick Thorpe, TForce Freight, Rahway, New Jersey
  • Bernard Wanyo, United Parcel Service, Newport, Pennsylvania
  • Scott Wood, Penske Logistics, Shelby, North Carolina
  • David Young, FedEx Freight, Charlotte, North Carolina

The 36 finalists advance to the final round of the selection process, being held in January in Arlington, Virginia. A panel of evaluators, including industry officials and trucking news media representatives, will judge the contenders on their knowledge of the trucking industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages and overall safe driving record. 

The newly chosen 2022-2023 America’s Road Team will be announced on Jan. 19 following a ceremony on Capitol Hill in Washington. New Captains will share the industry’s message of safety with the motoring public, media, business and community groups, public officials, and their fellow truck drivers.

"These men and women were selected as finalists for America’s Road Team because they have outstanding safe driving records, share a passion for the trucking industry and are role models among their peers,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “We owe these professional drivers our gratitude, without them the American economy would come to a halt.”

America’s Road Team was created in 1986 to represent the trucking industry and is sponsored by Volvo Trucks. Captains, with support from their companies, dedicate a few days each month to attend industry events, speak at schools, or meet policymakers on behalf of the trucking industry.