Finalists named for Tank Truck Driver of the Year award

Updated Dec 22, 2021
F Sr8 Ml9 R Ka I Tb1 F Su Nga Driver Of The Year No White Space

The National Tank Truck Carriers has announced the eight professional tank truck drivers who have been selected as this year's Champion Finalists for the Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Award.

The finalists are:

  • Robert Anderson, Florida Rock & Tank Lines
  • James W. Ellis, Sr., Grammer Industries, Inc.
  • Thomas Frain, Highway Transport Chemical
  • Dean Hansen, Trimac Transportation
  • Richard "Jerry" Locke, Kenan Advantage
  • Daniel Smith, Kenan Advantage
  • Demetrius Stewart, Eagle Transport
  • Michael White, Quality Carriers

These drivers will now advance to the final round of the selection process next month in Washington, D.C. where a panel of industry professionals will judge them on their knowledge of the tank truck industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages, overall safe driving record, and their positive community efforts outside of their driving responsibilities.

The Grand Champion will be unveiled at the NTTC’s 2022 Annual Conference & Exhibits at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront, April 23-26.

“Congratulations to the eight Champion Finalists and all of the professional drivers who applied this year,” said NTTC President and CEO Ryan Streblow.  “In our unique segment, safety is the single most critical element of success and these finalists epitomize the safety culture that the tank truck industry is recognized for."

During the Grand Champion’s one-year term, he will serve as the face of the industry, representing NTTC at safety-focused events throughout the year, and sharing NTTC's mission of safety and education with the general public.

The award is sponsored by Great West Casualty Company.