Members named to ATA's Law Enforcement Advisory Board

Shutterstock 632866523

The American Trucking Associations unveiled its 2022 Law Enforcement Advisory Board, which was formed last year to advise the federation on ways to grow and strengthen relationships between the trucking industry and law enforcement organizations across the country.

The board is comprised of ATA members who have previous experience in federal, state, and local law enforcement, as well as current and retired law enforcement officials who’ve contributed positively to the partnership between both groups. The 2022 LEAB has 37 members in total who combine for over 900 years of law enforcement experience.

Fred Fakkema, vice president of safety and compliance for Zonar Systems, will serve as this year’s LEAB Chairman. Before joining Zonar, Fakkema served 25 years in the Washington State Patrol.

This year’s LEAB is divided into six working groups focused on specific issue sets:  

  • Commercial Motor Vehicle Safety and Security
  • Distracted Driving
  • Truck Parking
  • Training Accessibility
  • Human Trafficking
  • Enforcement Standardization.

Dennis Bailey, a fleet safety manager for Walmart Supply Chain Transportation, and Mark Savage, director of connected truck solutions at Drivewyze, will serve as the LEAB’s vice-chairs. Todd Armstrong, a master sergeant in the Illinois State Police, will serve as LEAB’s law enforcement outreach advisor. Derek Barrs, senior program manager at HTNB Corporation, will serve as industry outreach advisor.

The other members of the 2022 LEAB are:  

  • Chris Harris, ABF Freight System
  • Christopher Morris, U.S. Xpress                          
  • Jeff Ferber, J.B. Hunt
  • David Lorenzen, Iowa Department of Transportation
  • John McKown, TForce Freight
  • Myron Rau, South Dakota Trucking Association
  • Dana Moore, Texas Trucking Association
  • Austin Collins, ABF Freight System
  • James Farris, Louisiana State Police
  • Parker Harrison, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Mike Martin, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • Jim Kochenderfer, Werner Enterprises
  • Butch Day, Yellow Corporation
  • Tim Cardwell, National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area Assistance Center
  • Jeffrey Tippit, City of La Porte Police Department
  • Thomas Fuller, Elite Training & Consulting
  • John Rigney, Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association
  • Keith Eoff, J.B. Hunt
  • Marc Nichols, Drivewyze
  • Donnie Ware, ABF Freight System   
  • Mark Riordan, The Friedkin Group
  • Christopher Vinson, Midlothian Police Department
  • Rex Railsback, Hazmat Safety Professionals
  • Ray Miller, McAnally Wilkins Insurance
  • Jeff DeVere, DeVere Public Affairs and Consulting
  • Steve Dowling, Covenant Logistics
  • Rocco Marrari, EBE Technologies
  • Steve Keppler, Scopelitis Consulting
  • Jake Elovirta, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance
  • Dennis Bailey, Walmart
  • Steve Wilhelms, Lee Trans
  • Allen Boyd, Walmart
  • Janice Mulanix, PrePass Safety Alliance