Veteran trucker is Alabama Trucking Association's Driver of the Year

Updated Mar 19, 2024
Lloyd Howell
Alabama Trucking Association

Lloyd HowellLloyd HowellAlabama Trucking AssociationA veteran trucker who has logged almost 2 million safe miles is Alabama's Driver of the Year.

The Alabama Trucking Association honored a number of its members during its annual  Safety & Maintenance Management Council’s Fleet Safety Awards Banquet March 14 at the Hyatt Regency Birmingham.

This year’s Driver of the Year Award was given to Lloyd Howell of TCW, Inc., a seasoned professional with more than 25 years behind the wheel and nearly 2 million safe miles.

He currently serves on the Alabama Road Team, a public outreach program that has allowed him to educate hundreds of students about the “Share the Road” initiative that teaches young drivers how to safely drive near commercial vehicles. Recently, he was named a captain for the American Trucking Association’s America’s Road Team, further amplifying his highway safety efforts.

His supervisors at TCW praise his work ethic, self-discipline and reliability. Always leading in productivity, he prioritizes safety, compliance, and customer service. He is a mentor to many new drivers at TCW, which is a testament to his dedication and respect for his peers.

“This is all so overwhelming,” Howell said. “I have been driving for nearly 30 years, and along the way, I have met some of the best people, the most courteous safest drivers – many of them are here with us tonight. Just to be picked among them to share this award is very exciting for me.”

The Driver of the Year Runner-Up was Chuck Floyd, a third-generation veteran driver for LB3, Inc. of Wedowee, Alabama.

The Driver of the Year award is sponsored by Southland Transportation Group.

The association also:

  • named Rebecca Wise of DMT Trucking, LLC Fleet Professional of the Year
  • named Matthew Kelly Maintenance Professional of the Year
  • named John Butler of R.E. Garrison Trucking Co. Fleet Manager of the Year
  • gave the President's Award to  S and M Transportation, Inc.