Miranda Lambert, Zac Brown on ‘Southern Family’ concept album

“Southern Family” album cover

Grammy nominated music producer Dave Cobb is bringing together some of the biggest names in country for a new compilation album, “Southern Family.” Miranda Lambert, Jason Isbell, Zac Brown and Shooter Jennings have all loaned their voices to the album, which is set for release March 18.

Cobb invited 13 artists to write original songs about their youth in the South and what it was like to grow up there.

“A friend and I were talking and he said, ‘You should make a concept record.’ I laughed him off the phone. Who’s going to put out a concept record and why would anyone do it?” said Cobb, in a Warner Music news release. “But the more I thought about it, everybody has a great story, about their parents, their grandparents or brother and sister. I wanted to have really talented artists custom write and do songs that mean a lot to them, and also just make the song that maybe they wouldn’t put on their record.” 

“Southern Family” is scheduled for release March 18. It is available for preorder from Amazon here and iTunes here.

The album’s artists and track list:

1. Simple Song (John Paul White)

2. God Is a Working Man (Jason Isbell)

3. Down Home (Brent Cobb)

4. Sweet By and By (Miranda Lambert)

5. You Are My Sunshine (Morgane Stapleton with Chris Stapleton)

6. Grandma’s Gardon (Zac Brown)

7. Momma’s Table (Jamey Johnson)

8. Learning (Anderson East)

9. Settle Down (Holly Williams)

10. I Cried (Brandy Clark)

11. Can You Come Over? (Shooter Jennings)

12. The Way Home (Rich Robinson)