FedEx Express driver wins grand championship at national driving competition

Updated Aug 23, 2022
Truck driver with championship trophy
2022 Bendix Grand Champion Roland Bolduc, FedEx Express

Roland Bolduc, a professional driver with FedEx Express, Friday was named Bendix Grand Champion tonight at the conclusion of the 85th National Truck Driving and Step Van Driving Championships.

Bolduc, competing in the sleeper berth, bested a field of 408 drivers with nearly 730 million combined accident-free miles to claim the coveted title of grand champion at this year’s event held in Indianpolis.

This is Bolduc’s second Bendix Grand Championship, having won the title in 2017. A resident of East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, he has more than 2.5 million safe driving miles in his more than 40-year-long career. Bolduc was named an America’s Road Team Captain in 2000.I

In addition, ATA crowned Tyler Tollefson, from FedEx Freight, as 2022 Rookie of the Year. 

“Congratulations to Roland and the great team at FedEx for being crowned Bendix Grand Champion,” said American Trucking Associations President and CEO Chris Spear. “It has been a long road for these drivers to get here, and to emerge as the best of a truly elite group is a tremendous honor. Roland’s commitment to safety and professionalism is an example of what this industry and this event are truly about.”

ATA also recognized the state of North Carolina with the NTDC Team Championship, placing five drivers into the finals. New York finished second in the team competition and Connecticut finished third.

The National Truck Driving Championships are made possible by dozens of NTDC committee members and volunteers who judge the course, serve as liaisons to the drivers, conduct course walk-throughs and perform a number of other key tasks. As such, ATA and ATA's Safety Management Council honor one volunteer each year with the Sam Gillette Volunteer of the Year Award. This year's Sam Gillette Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Michelle Wells of the South Dakota Trucking Association.

In addition, Anthony Spero, a professional driver with ABF Freight System Inc., was recognized with the Neil Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award as the competitor “who most exemplifies all the best attributes of a professional truck driver.”

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally
BlueParrott B350-XT
Presented by BlueParrott

Joining Bolduc on the list of national champions are:

Three-Axle Division  

  1. Wilbert Vano, XPO Logistics Inc. (New Jersey)
  2. Chris Poynor, XPO Logistics Inc. (Washington)
  3. Brian Walker, TForce Freight (North Carolina)

Four-Axle Division 

  1. Martin McMahon, RIST Transport (New York)
  2. Miguel Corral, UPS (Illinois)
  3. David Rohman, FedEx Express (North Carolina)

Five-Axle Division 

  1. David Guinn, Publix Super Markets Inc. (Florida)
  2. Timothy Banasiak, UPS (Illinois)
  3. Alphonso Lewis, Yellow (Alabama) 

Flatbed Division 

  1. Eric Ramsdell, Walmart Transportation LLC (Arizona)
  2. Raymond Waage, FedEx Freight (New York)
  3. Kenneth Rageth, FedEx Freight (Wyoming)

Sleeper Berth Division                                              

  1. Roland Bolduc, FedEx Express (Connecticut)
  2. Eric Courville, FedEx Freight (Louisiana)
  3. Charles White, Walmart Transportation LLC (Indiana)

Straight Truck Division                   

  1. Christopher Shaw, FedEx Express (New Mexico)
  2. Michael Bills, FedEx Express (North Carolina)
  3. Jesse Benkert, FedEx Ground (Kentucky)

Tank Truck Division                        

  1. Michael Flippin, FedEx Freight (Colorado)
  2. Heladio Fernandez, FedEx Freight (Oregon)
  3. Dennis Shirar, Walmart Transportation LLC (Indiana)

Twins Division                                               

  1. Damien Hebert, XPO Logistics Inc. (Louisiana)
  2. Leslie Smyth, FedEx Freight (Florida)
  3. Jeffrey Langenhahn, XPO Logistics Inc. (Wisconsin)

Step Van Division

  1. Gregory Long, FedEx Express (Maryland)
  2. Ceth Christensen, UPS (Illinois)
  3. Jerome De La Cruz, FedEx Express (Alaska)