TCA awards $163,775 in scholarships to 57 college students

Shutterstock 767158405

The Truckload Carriers Association Scholarship Fund is pleased to announce it isproviding financial assistance to the most recipients in its 48-year history. For the 2021-22 academic school year, 57 undergraduate college students with ties to the trucking industry have been awarded scholarships. Each student will receive a scholarship ranging from $2,725 to $6,250 from a total pool of $163,775. 

Additionally, the fund announced a new, fully-endowed Past Chairmen's Fund scholarship β€” the Robert D. Penner Scholarship. Penner served as TCA’s Chairman from 2017 to 2018. 

In order for a TCA past chairman to have a fully-endowed scholarship in their name, their fund is required to receive $50,000 in donations. The Robert D. Penner Scholarship will be the fourth scholarship named after a past TCA chairman.

The inaugural recipient of the Robert D. Penner Scholarship, in the amount of $3,250, is Abbigale Brown, whose mother works at Long Haul Trucking based in Albertville, Minnesota. Brown will be a junior at the University of Wisconsin - River Falls and is majoring in elementary education.

Since 1973, the fund has been providing scholarships to students associated with the trucking industry. Each scholarship recipient must be a student in good standing attending a four-year college or university and must be associated with a TCA member company as an employee, independent contractor, or the child, grandchild, or spouse of an employee or independent contractor of a TCA member company.

β€œComing off one of the most challenging years for many families, it feels particularly special to award this year’s recipients with the TCA Scholarship Fund awards,” said TCA Scholarship Fund Chairman and Wilson Logistics Founder and Chief Executive Officer Darrel Wilson. β€œThe TCA and I are proud to support these young adults as they continue their education, and we look forward to seeing their successes as they progress through their collegiate careers and beyond.”

The largest scholarships are named in honor of dedicated members, affiliates, and past TCA chairmen.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

This year’s scholarship recipients include:

Thomas Goble, Central Marketing Transport, NAIT Scholarship – $6,250

Rae Ballinger, H.O Wolding, Inc., John Kaburick Scholarship – $4,500

Landry Kirsling, H.O. Wolding, Inc., Kai Norris Scholarship – $3,250

Mason Jenkins, Doug Andrus Distributing, LLC, Darrel Clark Wilson III Scholarship – $3,250

Tristan Schelvan, H.O. Wolding, Inc., Thomas Welby Scholarship – $3,250

Austin Wagner, McLeod Software Corporation, Inc., Stoney Reese Stubbs Scholarship – $3,250

Kaitlyn Mcphee, Prime Inc., Robert Low Scholarship – $3,250

Abbigale Brown, Long Haul Trucking, Robert D. Penner Scholarship – $3,250

The following have been awarded $2,725 for the 2021-22 school year: 

Adam Mejia β€” USA Truck Inc.

Alexandra Wayne β€” Brown Trucking Co.

Amy Pitzel β€” Bison Transport

Andrea Vidaurre β€” EFS, a WEX Inc. Company

Andrew Goble β€” Central Marketing Transport, Inc. 

Anja Ziegler β€” Hill Brothers Transportation, Inc.

Anna Rzepkowski β€” Bennett Family of Companies 

Anthony Ciraulo β€” Werner Enterprises, Inc.

Aubree Boyd β€” Daseke - Boyd Bros. Transportation, Inc.

Brittany Woods β€” Christenson Transportation, Inc.

Brittlee Broom β€” KLLM Transport Services

Brooke Robinson β€” Bay & Bay 

Casey Russell β€” JLE Industries

Courtney Street β€” Wilson Logistics

Elizabeth Wilhelm β€” Hirschbach Motor Lines

Emily Dudaitis β€” E and V Services, Inc.

Emily Gomez β€” John Christner Trucking, Inc.

Erik Zaporozhets β€” Bison Transport

Ethan Neil β€” Werner Enterprises, Inc.

Freddy Brown β€” Wilson Logistics

Gavin Jeffries β€” Wabash National Corporation

Grace Hensley β€” Daseke - Lone Star Transportation, LLC

Hadley Baerns β€” Skyline Transportation, Inc.

Isabella McDaniel β€” Buchanan Hauling & Rigging, Inc.

Jack Thompson β€” Cheema Freightlines, LLC

Jared Anderson β€” deBoer Transportation, Inc.

Jeb Lucas β€” Werner Enterprises, Inc.

Jocelyn Calderon β€” Whiteline Express, Ltd.

Joseph Aiello β€” Abenaqui Carriers

Joshua Short β€” Cargo Transporters, Inc.

Kaylee Peiffer β€” Dickey Transport

Kelsey McGaughey β€” PGT Trucking, Inc. 

Kenna Holtzen β€” Fremont Contract Carriers, Inc.

Keylan Newton β€” Covenant Transport Services 

Lucas Leiter β€” Styer Transportation Company

Mallory Beamer β€” Dutch Maid Logistics

Martina Tolhurst β€” Bison Transport

Mason Ringger β€” Nussbaum Transportation Services, Inc.

Megan Rogers β€” Don Hummer Trucking Corp.

Morgan Tracy β€” Acrisure LLC, HNI Risk Services

Nathan Gariepy β€” Load One, LLC

Olivia Thompson β€” Cheema Freightlines, LLC

Rajpreet Gill β€” Bison Transport

Robert Tolhurst β€” Bison Transport

Ryan Nicelley β€” Keller Logistics, LLC

Timothy Gilleo β€” Boyle Transportation

Varun Sivakumar β€” Werner Enterprises

Venkatesh Mahadevan β€” Bison Transport

Victoria Freeman β€” U.S. Xpress Inc.