TCA honors trucking companies for safe driving records

Updated Feb 5, 2016

Seventeen trucking companies in six divisions have been recognized by the Truckload Carriers Association for their safety records, and two will eventually be chosen as grand prize winners later this year.

The TCA Monday (Feb. 1) announced the division winners for its annual National Fleet Safety Awards. Sponsored by Great West Casualty Company, the awards honor trucking companies that demonstrate a superior commitment to safety and accident reduction.

The 2015 top divisional winners based on low accident frequency ratios per million miles (Companies are listed according to the order that they placed within each category.) include:

Division I Winners (under 5 million miles)

  1. Stageline Express, Coopersville, Michigan
  2. FTC Transportation, Inc., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  3. Rocha Transportation, Modesto, California

Division II Winners (5-14.99 million miles)

  1. MacKinnon Transport Inc., Guelph, Ontario
  2. Hi-Tech Express, Inc., Roseville, Minnesota
  3. Landstar Express America, Inc., Jacksonville, Florida

Division III Winners (15-24.99 million miles)

  1. Smokey Point Distributing, Arlington, Washington
  2. High Country Transportation, Midlothian, Texas

Division IV Winners (25-49.99 million miles)

  1. Halvor Lines, Inc., Superior, Wisconsin
  2. Trans-West, Lachine, Québec
  3. Erb International, Inc., New Hamburg, Ontario

Division V Winners (50-99.99 million miles)

  1. Groupe Robert Inc., Rougemont, Québec
, Canada
  2. May Trucking Co., Salem, Oregon
  3. Cargo Transporters, Inc., Claremont, North Carolina

 Division VI Winners (100+ million miles)

  1. Bison Transport Inc, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Interstate Distributor, Tacoma, Washington
  3. Landstar Ranger, Inc., Jacksonville, Florida

TCA said the division winners were selected based on their accident frequency per million miles. The numbers were verified by an audit conducted by an independent expert.

“Truckload carriers are constantly striving to improve overall safety while out on the roads,” said Holly Caskey, TCA’s Safety & Security Division chair and the vice president of driver training for Dart Transit Company of Eagen, Minnesota. “It takes a lot of work, and it’s a tremendous achievement when you can boast a very safe record, so we want to showcase that via this contest.”

The division winners will be recognized at a ceremony during TCA’s annual convention, March 6-9, at the Wynn Las Vegas Resort in Las Vegas. They will be also be recognized during TCA’s Safety & Security Division Annual Meeting, May 22-24, at the Worthington Renaissance in Fort Worth, Texas.

The division winners will compete for two grand prizes, one in the “less than 25 million annual miles” category and one in the “25 million or more annual miles” category.

Companies will be judged on their overall safety programs, both on- and off-highway, including employee driver/independent contractor selection procedures, training, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment, and outside activities including general highway safety.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally
BlueParrott B350-XT
Presented by BlueParrott

As with the division winners, the two grand prize winners will be honored at an awards ceremony to be held first during TCA’s annual convention and then again during TCA’s Safety & Security Division annual meeting.