Trucking execs to consider highway funding sources

The American Trucking Associations announced named 11 trucking industry executives to its Infrastructure Funding Task Force. The Task Force will meet for the first time Monday, Dec. 19.

road-workThe members of the task force include:

  • Jim Burg, president and CEO, James Burg Trucking Co. (co-chair)
  • David Congdon, CEO, Old Dominion Freight Line (co-chair)
  • Mike Ducker, president and CEO, FedEx Freight
  • Eric Fuller, COO, U.S. Xpress Inc.
  • Neal Kedzie, president, Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association
  • Rich McArdle, president, UPS Freight
  • Dennis Nash, CEO, Kenan Advantage Group
  • Tonn Ostergard, president and CEO, Crete Carrier Corp.
  • John Smith, Chairman, CRST International Inc.
  • Paul Will, Chairman, Celadon Group Inc.
  • ATA Chairman Kevin Burch, president, Jet Express Inc.

“I announced the formation of this group in October as part of my first State of the Industry address, with an eye on launching the effort in early 2017,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “But with infrastructure spending likely to be one of the first policy efforts undertaken by the incoming Trump administration, the time is right to begin this important work now.”

The task force will evaluate potential sources of funding for roads and bridges.

“While this does not mean we are abandoning our historic support for the fuel tax or opposition to tolling existing highways, it does mean that we will be looking at alternatives to help the new administration develop long-term, sustainable infrastructure funding,” said Spear.