Nebraska names its top truckers at annual championships

Ed Beins (Image Courtesy of ABF Freight/Facebook)Ed Beins (Image Courtesy of ABF Freight/Facebook)

ABF Freight’s Ed Beins was named grand champion at the Nebraska Trucking Driving Championships, held June 2-3 in Grand Island, Nebraska. Beins also won in the Straight Truck category.

This is not Beins’ first time as Nebraska’s grand champion. He also won the title at the 2015 championships.

The winners, by category, were:

Grand Champion: Ed Beins, ABF Freight 

Straight Truck: Ed Beins, ABF Freight

3-Axle: Sam Wilson, XPO Logistics

4-Axle: Terry Durham, Werner Enterprises

5-Axle: Tom Hopkins, Walmart Transportation

Sleeper: Darin Hardwick, Crete Carrier Corporation

Tank: Hunt Transportation

Flatbed: John Fogo, Red & White Market & Transfer

Twin: Brent Turek, FedEx Freight

Step Van: Adam Stroup, FedEx Express

Mixer: Kenny Dillon, Lyman-Richey Corporation

Truck and Pup: Bob Duff, Lyman-Richey Corporation

Team Winners: XPO Logistics

Jerry Wessell Award: Lonnie Starke, XPO Logistics