TCA honors 18 carriers for safety


Eighteen carriers have been named division winners in the Truckload Carriers Association 43rd Annual Fleet Safety Awards.

Sponsored by Great West Casualty Company, the awards recognize trucking companies who have demonstrated an unparalleled commitment to safety. The top three winning companies in each of six mileage-based divisions had the lowest accident frequency ratios per million miles, annually. They include:

Division 1 Winners (less than 5 million miles): 

  • 1st Place, Tri Alexander Transportation, Muskogee, Oklahoma
  • 2nd Place, Specialty Transport, Inc., Knoxville, Tennessee
  • 3rd Place, Searcy Specialized, Harrison, Ohio

Division 2 Winners (5-14.99 million miles):

  • 1st Place, M&W Transportation, Nashville, Tennessee
  • 2nd Place, Britton Transport Inc., Grand Forks, North Dakota
  • 3rd Place, Convoy Systems, LLC, Kansas City, Kansas

Division 3 Winners (15-24.99 million miles):

  • 1st Place, Kottke Trucking, Inc., Buffalo Lake, Minnesota
  • 2nd Place, Grand Island Express, Grand Island, Nebraska
  • 3rd Place, V&S Midwest Carriers Corp., Kaukauna, Wisconsin

Division 4 Winners (25-49.99 million miles):

  • 1st Place, Trans-West Logistics Lachine, Quebec, Canda
  • 2nd Place, Hill Brothers Transportation, Omaha, Nebraska
  • 3rd Place, Doug Andrus Distributing, Idaho Falls, Idaho

Division 5 Winners (50-99.99 million miles):

  • 1st Place, Groupe Robert, Inc., Rougemont, Quebec, Canada
  • 2nd Place, Freymiller, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • 3rd Place, Halvor Lines, Inc., Superior, Wisconsin

Division 6 Winners (100 million or more miles):

  • 1st Place, Bison Transport, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
  • 2nd Place, May Trucking Co., Inc., Salem, Oregon
  • 3rd Place, Contract Freighters, Inc., Joplin, Missouri

All division winners are invited to compete for one of two grand prizes; one for carriers with a total annual mileage less than 25 million miles, and the other for carriers with mileage greater than 25 million miles.

The two overall grand prize winners will be announced at TCA’s 81st Annual Convention at the Wynn Las Vegas Resort, March 10-13, 2019.

“Year after year, TCA’s members prove that safety is the top priority of the truckload industry through participation in the Fleet Safety Awards,” said TCA President John Lyboldt. “We are incredibly proud to recognize and showcase these fleets, which have maintained a superb safety record through their use of innovative programs to establish a culture of safety within their companies.”