XPO driver claims second championship in Arizona contest

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated May 17, 2019
Ina Daly, pictured, is Arizona’s back-to-back grand champion.Ina Daly, pictured, is Arizona’s back-to-back grand champion.

XPO Logistics driver Ina Daly is a 26-time competitor in the Arizona Truck Driving Championship and is now a two-time grand champion after earning the title for the second time in a row at the 2019 competition.

The competition was held April 13 at Tempe Diablo Stadium. Not only did Daly have the highest overall score at the championship out of over 175 drivers, but she was also recognized for having the top best skills/driving course score. Daly also came in first in the 5-Axle class.

FedEx Freight driver Robert Lopez received the Rookie of the Year award. David Zdanek, also with FedEx Freight, won the award for having the best pre-trip inspection score.

Daly and her fellow championship class winners will represent their state at the National Truck Driving Championship in Pittsburgh Aug. 14-17.

The complete list of class winners:

Straight Truck: Charles Woodland, FedEx Freight

3-Axle: Albert Ochoa, FedEx Freight

4-Axle: Ramon Diaz Jr., FedEx Freight

5-Axle: Ina Daly, XPO Logistics

Flatbed: Eric Ramsdell, Walmart

Tanker: George Wells III, Shamrock Foods Co.

Sleeper: Gregory Ryan, Walmart

Twins: Kelly Brown, FedEx Freight

Step Van: Ruben Montoya Jr., FedEx Ground