8 states under FMCSA emergency declaration

Winter’s earlier than normal arrival in parts of the upper Midwest promoted the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to make an emergency declaration for eight states.
The declaration covers:
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • South Dakota
  • Wisconsin

The declaration was made as severe weather conditions caused a decrease in the availability of household heating fuel, including propane. It triggers the temporary suspension of certain federal safety regulations for motor carriers and drivers engaged in specific aspects of the emergency relief effort.

See details of the declaration online.