Hours regs suspended for relief haulers after tornadoes

Updated Apr 17, 2020

Severe weather across the Southern U.S. last weekend prompted the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to declare a regional emergency, suspending hours of service regulations for drivers and carriers providing direct relief to affected areas.

States included in the declaration are: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

This emergency declaration is in addition to the existing COVID-19 declaration that suspends certain regulations for drivers and carriers hauling supplies related to the pandemic.

At least 30 people were killed in storms that produced tornadoes, high winds, and heavy rain.