FedEx Freight driver wins Texas driving grand championship

Updated Aug 5, 2022
Award winners
Front row, left to right: David Urrea IV, HEB; Robert Gonzalez, FedEx Freight; Grand Champion Dennis Mace, FedEx Freight; Ronald Ramon, HEB. Back row, left to right: Mario Gonzales, Jr., HEB; Eduardo Camacho, HEB; Randy Gamez, Jr., HEB; Noe Gomez, HEB; Luis Tarin, FedEx Ground.

Truckers for H-E-B dominated the recent Texas Trucking Association's state Truck Driving Championships, but it was a FedEx Freight driver who was named grand champion.

Dennis Mace, was the competition's grand champion and also won the straight truck category. He drives for FedEx Freight.

Winners in all of the categories include:

3 Axle: David Urrea IV, HEB

5 Axle: Mario Gonzales, Jr., HEB

4 Axle: Eduardo Camacho, HEB

Tanker: Randy Gamez, Jr., HEB

Flatbed: Noe Gomez, HEB

Sleeper: Robert Gonzalez,  FedEx Freight

Straight Truck: Dennis Mace, FedEx Freight

Twins: Ronald Ramon, HEB

Step Van: Luis Tarin, FedEx Ground

Winners qualified for the National Truck Driving and Step Van Championships to be held Aug.16-19 in Indianapolis.