FedEx Freight driver repeats as grand champion in Louisiana competition

Updated Mar 7, 2023
Grand champion Eric Courville
Jeff Beam of Ergon Trucking (left) and Eric Courville of Breaux Bridge, and a driver for FedEx Freight, was the winner of the grand champion title at the 2023 Louisiana Truck Driving Championships.
John Ballance photo

A FedEx Freight driver was named the grand champion of the 2023 Louisiana Truck Driving Championships, presented by the LMTA Foundation last weekend  

Eric Courville of Breaux Bridge won the grand champion title as well as the five-axle sleeper cab category of the two-day event that attracted 80 drivers. Courville has won the title several times in the past.

The competition was held at the Renaissance Baton Rouge and a driving course across Highland Road from Blue Bayou and Dixie Landing amusement park.   

Category winners of the LMTA competition include:

Step Van

  • 1st Place: Michael Brian, Princeton  |  FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Nicholas Burgess, Delhi  |  Walmart
  • 3rd Place: Dana Hill, Baton Rouge  |  FedEx Ground

Straight Truck

  • 1st Place: Gary Tyler, Monroe  |  John N John Truckline
  • 2nd Place: Leroy Williams, Zachary  |  XPO 
  • 3rd Place: Corey Mitchell, Stonewall  |  FedEx Freight

3-Axle Van

  • 1st Place: Jon-Taylor Moreau, Carencro  |  FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: James Maxwell, Shreveport  |  FedEx Freight
  • 3rd Place: Brad Wederstrandt, Covington  |  XPO

4-Axle Van

  • 1st Place: Brian Landry, Maurice  |  FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Michael Lewis, Opelousas  |  Walmart
  • 3rd Place: Robert Carter, Homer  |  FedEx Freight

5-Axle Van

  • 1st Place: Donald Glover, Opelousas  |  Walmart
  • 2nd Place: Chad Rudesill, Hammond  |  FedEx Ground
  • 3rd Place: Joseph Vital, Port Allen  |  FedEx Freight 

5-Axle Tank Truck

  • 1st Place: Collie Shaw, Monroe  |  FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Dale Bodden, Walker  |  Ergon Trucking
  • 3rd Place: Xavier Theriot, Shreveport  |  FedEx Freight

5-Axle Flatbed

  • 1st Place: Mark Collins, Arnaudille  |  Walmart
  • 2nd Place: Warren Little, Shreveport  |  FedEx Freight
  • 3rd Place: Larry Smith, Baton Rouge  |  XPO

5-Axle Sleeper Cab

  • 1st Place: Eric Courville, Breaux Bridge  |  FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Shaun Brown, Alexandria  |  Walmart
  • 3rd Place: Joseph Guidry, Rayne  |  Walmart

Twin Truck

  • 1st Place: Damien Hebert, Lafayette  |  XPO
  • 2nd Place: Dennis Jameson, Pineville  |  FedEx Freight
  • 3rd Place: Marquis Phillips, New Orleans  |  Old Dominion Freight Line

Mechanic’s Award:      

  • Corey Mitchell, Stonewall – Fed Ex Freight                                 

Rookie of the Year:      

  • Benjamin Harvey, Ruston – Old Dominion Freight Line    

Team Trophy:              

  • XPO Logistics

Grand Champion:        

  • Eric Courville, Breaux Bridge – FedEx Freight

All first-place winners will represent the LMTA Foundation and the State of Louisiana in the 2023 American Trucking Association National Truck Driving Championships in Columbus, Ohio, Aug. 16 – 20.