ABF Freight System's Bob Bramwell wins ATA's Mike Russell Image Award

Mike Russell Image Award winners
Mike Russell Image Award winners
American Trucking Associations

Bob BramwellBob BramwellAmerican Trucking AssociationsA veteran trucker from Missouri was among five recipients of the 2023 Mike Russell Trucking Image Award given by the American Trucking Associations.

Bob Bramwell, a driver for ABF Freight Systems, Inc. received his award during ATA's annual Management Conference and Exhibition held in Austin, Texas.

The other recipients were:

  • Florida Trucking Association
  • Idaho Trucking Association
  • Rob Phillips, founder & CEO, Phillips Industries
  • Total Transportation of Mississippi

Bramwell has been a professional truck driver for more than 18 years and has accumulated over 2 million accident-free miles. 

He has been on the ABF Freight Road Team since 2020 and has won the ABF Freight Bronze Driving award; the ABF Freight 10-Year Safety Performance award, and the ABF Freight 10-Year Safe Driving certificate. Bob has competed nine times in the Missouri Truck Driving Championships, placing in his class eight times and competing in the National Truck Driving Championships in 2014.

A member of ATA's America's Road Team, Bramwell lives in Centerview, Missouri, with his wife, Heather, and their two children.

First handed out in 2007, the Mike Russell Trucking Image Award is given to an individual, motor carrier, trucking organization, and industry supplier who each demonstrates excellence in illustrating the industry's essentiality, professionalism, and commitment to safety on and off the highways. The award is sponsored by Great West Casualty Company.

“This award celebrates companies, organizations and individuals who use innovation and creativity to generate positive awareness of trucking,” said Sarah Rajtik, ATA executive vice president of human resources, operations and industry affairs. â€śThe winners this year have worked alongside ATA to raise the public’s perception of trucking, and we thank them for their dedication to our shared mission.” 

ATA also handed out other awards during the conference.

It honored eight companies with the 2023 ATA Diversity Equity and Inclusion Change Leader Award for their efforts and commitment to creating a culture of acceptance and belonging for their employees.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

The recipients included:

  • Believers Trucking
  • Cargo Transporters Inc.
  • Covenant Logistics
  • Garner Trucking Inc.
  • Knight-Swift Transportation
  • Kodiak Robotics
  • Pilot Flying J
  • Werner Enterprises Inc.

ATA also honored Dr. Alix Miller, president and CEO of the Florida Trucking Association, with the ATA Trucking Association Executives Council President’s Leadership Award.

The association's Trucking Cares Foundation recognized Phil Byrd, President and CEO of Bulldog Hiway Express, with the 2023 Trucking Cares Foundation’s John Lex Premier Achievement Award.

ATA also recognized John Chipman Jr., executive vice president of Chipman Relocation & Logistics, with the 2023 Cathy Evans Highway to Victory Award for his dedication to advocacy on behalf of the trucking industry.

And, the association recognized 10 state trucking executives for their time representing the industry with Trucking Association Executives Council Service Awards. The honorees included:

  • Nebraska Trucking Association President Kent Grisham and Kentucky Trucking Association President and CEO Rick Taylor were honored for five years of service. 
  • Arizona Trucking Association President and CEO Tony Bradley, Ohio Trucking Association President and CEO Tom Balzer, and New Mexico Trucking Association Managing Director Johnny Johnson were recognized for 10 years of service. Balzer previously led the North Dakota Motor Carriers Association for six years.
  • Trucking Association of New York President Kendra Hems and Iowa Motor Truck Association President and CEO Brenda Neville were recognized for 15 years of service. 
  • Georgia Motor Truck Association President and CEO Ed Crowell and Wyoming Trucking Association President and CEO Sheila Foertsch were both recognized for 30 years of service. 
  • South Carolina Trucking Association President and CEO Rick Todd was honored for 35 years of service.