FedEx Freight driver wins Louisiana Truck Driving Championships

Updated Mar 11, 2024
Corey Mitchell
Louisiana Motor Truck Association

Corey MitchellCorey MitchellLouisiana Motor Truck AssociationA FedEx Fright driver was named the grand champion of the 2024 Louisiana Truck Driving Championships, the first truck driving competition of the year.

Corey Mitchell won the straight truck class as well as the Mechanic's Award for having the highest pre-trip inspection score. He was also a member of the FedEx Freight squad that won the event's Team Trophy.

The Rookie of the Year award went to David Jowers of Old Dominion Freight Line as the driver with the highest score among those participating in a truck-driving championship for the first time.

The 2024 Louisiana Truck Driving Championships, presented by the Louisiana Motor Truck Association Foundation, were held, March 1- 2 at L’Auberge Casino and Hotel in Baton Rouge and a driving course across in the overflow lot across from the hotel.  

This year’s competition saw 90 drivers compete in three tests focused on a driver's knowledge and skills. All competitors were required to provide safe driving records, including a zero-accident report for the year.

The scored categories included:

  1. The written examination was an hour-long test that measured competitors' knowledge of the trucking industry, safe driving rules, first aid, and firefighting.
  2. The pre-trip inspection tests the driver's ability to thoroughly perform the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s pre-trip inspection. Each driver was tasked with finding 17 defects planted on a test vehicle within a limited time.
  3. The field test course saw contestants drive a vehicle through a course with problems designed to simulate conditions they may encounter during the everyday operation of a truck.  

The top finishers in each class included:

Flat Bed

  • 1st Place: Joseph Vital, FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Mark Collins, Walmart
  • 3rd Place: Christopher Colomb, Walmart

Step Van 

  • 1st Place: Gary Tyler, Monroe, John N John Truckline
  • 2nd Place: Nicholas Burgess, Walmart
  • 3rd Place: Donald Williams, FedEx Ground

Straight Truck

  • 1st Place: Corey Mitchell, FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: LeRoy Williams, XPO
  • 3rd Place: Jordan Chaisson, FedEx Freight

3 Axle Van

  • 1st Place: David Jowers, Old Dominion 
  • 2nd Place: JT Moreau, FedEx Freight
  • 3rd Place: Jimmy Maxwell, FedEx Freight

4 Axle Van

  • 1st Place: Michael Bass, FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Brian Landry, FedEx Freight
  • 3rd Place: Jerry Farmer, XPO

5 Axle Tank Truck

  • 1st Place: Eric Courville, FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Donald Glover, Walmart
  • 3rd Place: Johnnie Fisher, Walmart

Sleeper Berth

  • 1st Place: Malcolm Taylor, FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Chad Rudesill, FedEx Ground
  • 3rd Place: Eric Blanchard  |  Walmart

Tank Truck

  • 1st Place: Patrick Rudesill |  FedEx Freight
  • 2nd Place: Peter Boulay  |  FedEx Freight
  • 3rd Place: Lenard Monk, Walmart

Twin Trailers

  • 1st Place: Demond Washington, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • 2nd Place: Marquis Phillips, Old Dominion Freight Line
  • 3rd Place: Wilbur Sansom, FedEx Freight 

All first-place winners will represent the LMTA Foundation and the state of Louisiana in the 2024 American Trucking Association National Truck Driving Championships in Indianapolis, Aug. 21-24.