Lytx hands out safety awards to 2023 drivers and coaches of the year

Collage of award winners

Lytx Inc., a provider of video safety solutions, recently announced the winners of its 2023 Driver and Coach of the Year awards.

This year, Lytx selected the winners and runners-up of the Driver of the Year and Coach of the Year from five different categories: Services/Utilities, Transit/Motor Coach, For-Hire Trucking, Private Trucking, and Waste/Construction. These awards recognize the dedication of these drivers and coaches to achieve their companies’ safety and operational goals, while staying accident-free using the Lytx Driver Safety Program.

Each of these winners demonstrated a commitment to using Lytx’s safety technology to advance their driving and customer service skills while improving their companies’ leadership by serving as peer mentors and instructors, according to a statement from the company.

Driver of the Year winners included: 

Trucking – For Hire: First Place Winner – Sam Landrum (Maverick Transportation, LLC) Landrum has been driving for 35 years, 29 with Maverick. Each time a driver travels a million miles for a company without a single preventable accident, they earn a Million Mile Safe Driving Award. Sam has earned the Three Million Mile designation. Second Place – Bill Nolan (Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.) Third Place – Barney (Conway) Penny (TransWood)

Trucking – Private Fleet: First Place Winner – Keith Whyley (A&K Enns Trucking Ltd.) Whyley has been driving 36 years with no accidents or tickets, winning the 10-Year Safety Award from Federated Cooperatives Limited (FCL) in 2017. For the past 15 years, he has been training new drivers for A&K Enns Trucking Ltd., and notes that his driving and coaching success is due to three simple things: “I like to treat others how I would like to be treated. I follow all rules and regulations put out by my company and take all training courses required to do my job." Second Place – Hector Vega (Vitalant)

Coach of the Year winners included:

Trucking – For Hire: First Place Winner – Robert Sams (Hub Group) Second Place – Kenneth Wasmund (Cargo Transporters, Inc.) Third Place – Ralph Hamilton (Old Dominion Freight Line, Inc.)

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally
BlueParrott B350-XT
Presented by BlueParrott

Trucking – Private Fleet -- The coach of the year for private fleets asked to remain anonymous. Second Place – Daniel Miller (Evolve Logistics Group) Third Place – Kevin Mowers (Reyes Coca-Cola Bottling)

“We applaud these deserving drivers and coaches for their continued efforts and commitment to making the roadways a safer place for everyone,” said David Riordan, Lytx’s executive vice president and general manager, enterprise.