Check out list of possible Trump DOT candidates

Updated Nov 26, 2016

Politico today posted a list of people whose names have been floated for the position of Secretary of Transportation in the Trump administration.

Nebraska Sen. Deb Fischer

According to Politico, they include:

  • Sen. Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), the chairwoman of the Senate Commerce subcommittee on surface transportation and merchant marine security
  • Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker
  • Rep. John Mica (R-Fla.), a former House Transportation chairman who lost reelection
  • Pat McCrory, the governor of North Carolina
  • James Simpson, a former New Jersey transportation commissioner and Federal Transit Administration administrator under George W. Bush
  • Dewey Bartlett, Tulsa’s mayor who lost reelection
  • Greg Hughes, speaker of the Utah House
  • Mark Rosenker, a former National Transportation Safety Board chairman

Fischer in the past has been a critic of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration and has spoken out for a long-term solution for highway funding.

See what The Atlantic’s CityLab had to say on the topic, and names they added to list.