FedEx drivers win champion, rookie titles in Ohio

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated May 24, 2018
Scott Woodrome is Ohio’s grand champion. (Image Courtesy of Ohio Trucking Association)Scott Woodrome is Ohio’s grand champion. (Image Courtesy of Ohio Trucking Association)

FedEx Freight driver Scott Woodrome took home the grand champion title from the Ohio Truck Driving Championship. Woodrome also won first place in the tanker class.

Another FedEx Freight driver, Wilt William, was named Rookie of the Year. FedEx Freight took home the large team award, as well.

The competition was held May 18-19 in Sandusky. It was organized by the Ohio Trucking Association.

The winners were:

Grand Champion: Scott Woodrome, FedEx Freight

Rookie of the Year: Wilt William, FedEx Freight

3-Axle: Paul Savill, UPS Freight

4-Axle: Jeff Pentrack, Pitt Ohio

5-Axle: Richie Bowman, Pitt Ohio

Flatbed: Bryan Elges, FedEx Freight

Sleeper: Mark Hewitt, Ross Transportation Services Inc.

Step Van: Aaron Snyder, FedEx Ground

Straight Truck: Paul Hillman, FedEx Freight

Tank Truck: Scott Woodrome, FedEx Freight

Twins: Jeff Rose, YRC Freight

Chairman’s Award: Russ Simpson, Holland

Sportsmanship Award: Merle Ashbaugh, UPS

Small Team Award: Marathon Petroleum

Large Team Award: FedEx Freight

Volunteer of the Year: Mike Hathaway, AWP