Big G Express driver wins $10,000 Road Warrior contest

Updated Sep 11, 2019

A Tennessee company driver is this year’s grand prize winner in the Pilot Flying J Road Warrior contest.

Road Warrior winner Timothy CheletteRoad Warrior winner Timothy Chelette

Timothy Chelette of Murfreesboro, Tennessee drives for Big G Express, which collaborated with Pilot Flying J to surprise the winner with his $10,000 prize.

Rodney Hagan of Webster, Florida, and William McNamee of Christopher, Illinois, are the second and third place Road Warrior winners, respectively. Pilot Flying J awarded $5,000 to Hagan, and $2,500 to McNamee. Nominators of the grand, second and third place winners receive a $500 prize.

The Road Warrior contest announcement today was Pilot Flying J’s kickoff to National Truck Driver Appreciation Week. The three finalists were selected from more than 7,500 online nominations for their efforts in the U.S. trucking industry.

Rodney Hagan and his familyRodney Hagan and his family

A professional driver at Big G Express for almost 15 years, Chelette is an American Road Team Captain. He has also been a Tennessee Road Team Captain and has driven more than 1.9 million accident-free miles. In the last four years, Chelette has raised more than $30,000 for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital through an annual motorcycle ride he created.

William McNameeWilliam McNamee

“It is a great honor to be named the Road Warrior winner,” said Chelette. “Thank you to Big G Express for nominating me and to Pilot Flying J for putting on this great program that recognizes drivers like me. I will be able to do more charity rides now that my motorcycle will be paid off. I appreciate everyone who voted – it really means a lot.”

“Each year, our Road Warrior program allows us to honor the unsung “heroes on the road” who go above and beyond as professional drivers,” said Ken Parent, president of Pilot Flying J. “The trucking community is lucky to have so many hardworking men and women on the road committed to keeping America moving and this year’s winners exemplify some of the most admirable qualities of the industry. Thank you and congratulations to Timothy and the finalists for their hard work and dedication.”