FMCSA issues emergency declaration in 7 southern states


Recent severe weather prompted the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration to temporarily suspend some regulations in seven states in the South.

FMCSA issued a Regional Emergency Declaration for Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee in response to severe weather. At least 43 tornadoes were reported causing widespread property destruction, flooding and posing an immediate threat to human life and public welfare.

According to a statement from the FMCSA, “Carriers and drivers providing direct emergency assistance transporting supplies, goods, equipment, and fuel into the affected states are granted emergency relief from 49 CFR Parts 390 through 399 (temporary operating authority fee provisions) except as otherwise restricted.”

Visit the FMCSA website for more details.