8 named finalists for national tank truck driver award


The National Tank Truck Carriers has named eight professional tank truck drivers as this year’s Champion Finalists for its Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Award.

The 2019-2020 Champion Finalists include:

  • Ronald Baird, Hoffman Transportation LLC./ G&D Trucking, Inc.
  • James W. Ellis, Sr., Grammer Industries, Inc.
  • Ronald Evans, Liquid Cargo, Inc.
  • Darrien Henderson, J & M Tank Lines, Inc.
  • Alen Smailovic, Highway Transport
  • Abdul Standfield, Quality Carriers, Inc.
  • Edward Stasyshyn, Trimac Transportation
  • Tony Stinnett, Usher Transport, Inc.

“Congratulations to all of our professional drivers who applied this year and certainly our eight champion finalists,” said NTTC President Daniel R. Furth.  “In our unique segment, safety is the single most critical element of success and these finalists epitomize the required safety culture that separates tank truckers from other segments. Thanks to our program sponsor Great West Casualty and our esteemed judges whose support and efforts make this contest one of the top driver recognition programs in all of trucking.”

These eight finalists will advance to the final round of the selection process next month in Arlington, Virginia where a panel of industry professionals will judge the contestants on their knowledge of the tank truck industry, dedication to safety, ability to communicate the industry’s messages, overall safe driving record, and their positive community efforts outside of their driving responsibilities.

The 2019-2020 Professional Tank Truck Driver of the Year Grand Champion will be announced at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C. during NTTC’s 75th Anniversary Annual Conference & Exhibits, May 3-5.

During the winner’s one-year term, he or she will serve as the face of the industry, representing NTTC at safety-focused events throughout the year, and sharing NTTC’s mission of safety and education with the general public.