XPO Logistics' Wilbert Vano is grand champion of NJMTA's driving competition

Updated Jun 12, 2022
Truck driver with trophy

XPO Logistics driver Wilbert Vano went home with plenty of hardware from the New Jersey Motor Truck Association's annual Truck Driving Championships competition last weekend in Atlantic City.

Vano won the grand championship title, the written exam portion of the competition, the skills course, pre-trip inspection, and the three-axle class. 

The complete list of winners includes:

Man with trophyWilbert Vano won the grand championship title, the written exam portion of the competition, pre-trip inspectiopn, the skills course, and the three-axle class.NJMTAGrand Champion – Wilbert Vano, XPO Logistics

Written Exam Winner – Wilbert Vano, XPO Logistics

Pre-Trip Inspection Winner – Wilbert Vano, XPO Logistics

Skills Course Winner - Wilbert Vano, XPO Logistics

Rookie of the Year – Jakub Musial, United Parcel Service

Small Team Champion – A. Duie Pyle

Large Team Champion – FedEx Freight

Dave Borngesser Sportsmanship Award – Rich Kaczynski, A. Duie Pyle, Inc.

3 Axle

  • 1st – Wilbert Vano, XPO Logistics
  • 2nd – Tom Scott, A. Duie Pyle
  • 3rd – Chester Sevek, Jr., XPO Logistics (Rookie)

4 Axle

  • 1st – Doug Simonelli, A. Duie Pyle
  • 2nd – Gilbert Llantin, United Parcel Service
  • 3rd –MartinMiles, XPO Logistics

5 Axle

  • 1st – Carlos Chavarriago, United Parcel Service
  • 2nd –KevinByrnes, United Parcel Service
  • 3rd – Sean O’Donnell, Pitt Ohio


  • 1st –Dominick Vanacore, United Parcel Service (Rookie)
  • 2nd –Eli Oyola,TForce Freight (Rookie)
  • 3rd –Rob Brown,TForce Freight

Sleeper Berth

  • 1st – Leszek Beben, FedEx Freight
  • 2nd –Maciej Grzywna, United Parcel Service
  • 3rd –Richard Stanton, XPO Logistics

Straight Truck

  • 1st – Ed Conrad, FedEx Express
  • 2nd – Izzet Ceylan, FedEx Ground (Rookie)
  • 3rd – Sean Wilson, A. Duie Pyle

Tank Truck

  • 1st – Luis Agudelo, FedEx Freight 
  • 2nd –Jakub Musial, United Parcel Service (Rookie)
  • 3rd –Matthew Hladik, United Parcel Service (Rookie)


  • 1st –Remedios Camacho, FedEx Freight
  • 2nd – Anthony LaGrasta, Carbon Express
  • 3rd –JoeCammalleri, TForce Freight


  • 1st – John Ogundele, United Parcel Service (Rookie)
  • 2nd – Travis Yehle, FedEx Ground (Rookie)
  • 3rd –Ron Price, United Parcel Service (Rookie) 

Class winners can now compete in the National Truck Driving Championships and National Step Van Driving Championships Aug. 16-19 in Indianpolis.