ATHS announces newest inductees into hall of fame

Updated Jul 8, 2022
Hall of Fame inductees
The first class of Hall of Fame inductees

During its National Convention and Truck Show in Springfield, Illinois recently, the American Truck Historical Society announced its latest inductees for the American Trucking and Industry Leader Hall of Fame.

ATIL Hall of Fame Chair Tom Mullen and Vice Chair John Vannatta announced at the ATHS Awards Banquet that the following pioneers would be honored during an induction ceremony at the ATHS home office in Kansas City, Missouri on Oct. 26:

  • Earl and Lillian Congdon, Old Dominion Freight Line founders
  • Leland James, Freightliner Trucks founder
  • Bill and Carolyn Moon, Iowa 80 truck stop founders

“Recognizing the trucking professionals' contributions to society and the economy, as well as the pioneers who laid the foundation for the trucking industry are at the core of the ATIL Hall of Fame,” said ATHS Executive Director Laurence Gration.

The first inductees last year included:

  • Broadcaster Dave Nemo
  • the Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association
  • Clessie Cummins
  • The Mack Brothers