Latest Citizen Drivers have combined 80 years on the road


Two veteran truckers are the latest to be honored by having their names attached to travel centers.

TravelCenters of America today announced its seventh annual Citizen Driver Award winners. They are Herschel Evans of Bremen, Georgia and Jerry Seaman of Huron, South Dakota.

Jerry SeamanJerry Seaman

The travel center network created the award to recognize professional drivers who demonstrate traits that bring a high level of respect to the truck driving profession, including good citizenship, safety, health and wellness, community involvement, and leadership. The winners were announced live on the Dave Nemo Radio Show on Sirius XM 146- Road Dog Trucking Radio.

As part of the honor, Citizen Driver Award winners may select a TA, Petro Stopping Center or TA Express location to be dedicated in their name, allowing their story to be continuously displayed for all travelers that pass through. In addition, TA will make a $2,500 donation to each winner’s charity of choice.

During his driving 48-year driving career, Seaman has logged 5 million accident-free miles. Employed by NTA Trucking, LTD, Seaman was chosen as the NASTC Driver of the Year and as a member of their 2010 America’s Safe Driver Team. In 2011, Jerry began competing in the South Dakota Truck Driving championships. He received a first place finish in the 5-axle van class, received Rookie of the Year honors, the Larry Thury award, and was named Grand Champion. He also competed in the American Trucking Association’s National Truck Driving Championships.

When not on the road, Seaman is active in his church and the South Dakota Convoy for Special Olympics.

A lifetime member of the Owner Operator Independent Drivers Association and a member of the American Truck Historical Society, Seaman has chosen the St. Christopher Trucker’s Relief Fund as his charity to receive the $2,500 donation from TA. The Vermillion, South Dakota TA Express be dedicated in his name

Herschel EvansHerschel Evans

Evans, who has been driving for 32 years is employed by Holland, Inc. He has logged 3.1 million accident-free miles.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
BlueParrott B350-XT
Presented by BlueParrott
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

Evans received the 2018 Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance International Driver Excellence Award. In 2013, he was selected as an American Trucking Association’s American’s Road Team Captain. In 2017, he was presented with the Mark Russell Trucking Image Award for representing the industry through his role as an America’s Road Team Captain.

Evans has been active in the Convoy of Care, and for the past 33 years, he has been involved with Atlanta Ride for Kids, a motorcycle charity ride that benefits the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation.  In 2011, Herschel took over an intercompany truck driving championship and turned it into the Safety Drive for a Cure benefitting the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation.

Evans has chosen the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation, Safety Drive for a Cure as his charity to receive the $2,500 donation. The Petro in Atlanta, Georgia will soon be dedicated in his name.

“The goal of the Citizen Driver Program is to put a spotlight on some of the most extraordinary drivers today and illustrate the fine examples of professionalism embedded in the truck driving profession,” said Barry Richards, president of TA. “These drivers dedicate their lives to their career and we’re pleased to honor them and highlight their life-long commitment and sacrifices.”

Over 75 nominations for the Citizen Driver award were received this year, from fleet owners and executives, professional drivers, family members, trucking organization members, and trucking industry suppliers.

TA launched the program in 2013. To date, 35 Citizen Drivers have been honored.