Nominations sought for trucking image award

Updated Sep 20, 2020

The American Trucking Associations Tuesday, Sept. 15 opened nominations for the 2020 Mike Russell Trucking Image Award, which recognizes individuals and organizations that promote the image and reputation of the trucking industry.

First awarded in 2007, the Mike Russell Trucking Image award is given to an individual, motor carrier, trucking organization, and industry supplier who each demonstrate “excellence in illustrating the industry’s essentiality, professionalism, and commitment to safety on and off the highways,” according to ATA.

Screen Shot 2020 09 15 At 9 40 49 PmIn 2019, ATA recognized Covenant Transport for developing the Tomorrow’s Truckers program, the Minnesota Trucking Association for being one of the leading trucking image supporters at the state level, Fleet executive Kevin Burch of Jet Express Inc. for developing some of the industry’s high-profile image efforts, and America’s Road Team Captain and YRC Freight professional truck driver Steve Fields for being the epitome of an American truck driver in his actions, professionalism and words.

Since 2014, the award has been sponsored by HireRight.

Details of the award and how to submit a nomination can be found online.

“As the country faced unprecedented obstacles due to the spread of COVID-19, Americans witnessed firsthand the steadfast efforts and importance of the trucking industry,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear. “As an industry, we collectively came together and told our story. When the world needed us, we proudly reassured families that ‘a truck is on the way’ and that the industry is fully committed to doing its part in the national effort to ensure America makes it through the coronavirus pandemic.”

Mike Russell Trucking Image submissions are evaluated by a panel of judges, and winners are determined based on a number of factors including creativity, frequency, impact, and execution. Please visit the official nomination page to learn more about the award’s history and how to submit a nomination.

The award is named after former ATA Vice President of Public Affairs Mike Russell, who was a lifelong supporter and advocate for the trucking industry.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

Applications must be submitted by Oct. 5. The winners will be announced Oct. 26 during the ATA’s virtual Management Conference & Exhibition.