TA opens nominations for 2019 Citizen Driver awards


Nominations are open for TravelCenters of America‘s 2019 Citizen Drivers program, which honors truckers for their careers, along with their work outside the industry through good citizenship, safety, community involvement and leadership.

Anyone can nominate a truck driver. Nomination forms, rules and additional information is available from TA online. TA will accept nominations through Sept. 30.

“We always enjoy this time of year, when the nomination period opens in search for our next set of Citizen Drivers. We encourage everyone that knows or works with professional drivers to think about who stands out and nominate them. It’s an honor, every year, to get to know the nominees and to read the stories that have made an impact on the people they interact with every day,” said Barry Richards, president and COO of TA.

Over five years, there have been 31 Citizen Drivers and each have had a TA-Petro location dedicated to them.

The five 2018 Citizen Drivers will each have a TA or Petro location of their choice named after them. The name changes will be made during a dedication ceremony, and those ceremony dates and times are:

  • June 20 at 6:30 p.m.: Danny and Cindy George – TA Wheat Ridge, Colorado – “Danny & Cindy George Wheat Ridge Travel Center”
  • June 22 at 1 p.m.: Ingrid R. Brown – Petro Oklahoma City, Oklahoma – “Ingrid R. Brown Oklahoma City Stopping Center”
  • July 6 at 1 p.m.: Carol Wolder-Nixon – TA North Bend, Washington – “Carol Wolder-Nixon North Bend Travel Center”
  • July 7 at 1 p.m.: Roland Bolduc – TA Branford, Connecticut – “Roland Bolduc Branford Travel Center”