Group forms to improve relations between truckers and cops

Updated Mar 28, 2021
Police Shutterstock 735261934

The American Trucking Associations Wednesday, March 24, announced the formation of the Law Enforcement Advisory Board, a new panel that will advise the ATA Federation on ways to grow and strengthen relationships between the trucking industry and law enforcement organizations across the country.

Police 2 Shutterstock 1624593739A statement from the ATA said the board is comprised of ATA members who have "previous experience in federal, state, and local law enforcement, as well as current and retired law enforcement officials who have contributed positively to the partnership between both groups."

During its inaugural meeting, held virtually last week, the board identified primary issues it will focus on in the coming weeks and months. Those issues include combatting human trafficking; increasing truck parking capacity and ensuring driver safety at rest stops; commercial motor vehicle safety and security; and enhancing access to training for drivers and company safety personnel. 

The 22 members of the Law Enforcement Advisory Board will convene bimonthly to identify areas of opportunity and provide recommendations on priority issues. 

The advisory board members are:

                                                                                                    • Derek Barrs, HNTB Corporation
                                                                                                    • Joe Allen Boyd, professional driver, Walmart Inc.
                                                                                                    • Rick Cates, Marsh USA Inc.
                                                                                                    • Tim Cardwell, National High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area Assistance Center
                                                                                                    • Butch Day, Yellow Corporation
                                                                                                    • Jeff DeVere, DeVere Public Affairs and Consulting
                                                                                                    • Floyd Dixon, FedEx Freight
                                                                                                    • Fred Fakkema, Zonar Systems, Inc.
                                                                                                    • Jeff Ferber, ABF Freight System
                                                                                                    • Kent Grisham, Nebraska Trucking Association
                                                                                                    • Chris Harris, ABF Freight System
                                                                                                    • Parker Harrison, Old Dominion Freight Line
                                                                                                    • Jim Kochenderfer, Werner Enterprises
                                                                                                    • Mike Martin, Old Dominion Freight Line
                                                                                                    • John McKown, professional driver, UPS Freight
                                                                                                    • Ray Miller, McAnally Wilkins Insurance
                                                                                                    • Dana Moore, Texas Trucking Association
                                                                                                    • Myron Rau, South Dakota Trucking Association
                                                                                                    • John Spiros, Roehl Transport
                                                                                                    • Jeffrey Tippit, City of La Porte Police Department
                                                                                                    • Christopher Vinson, Midlothian Police Department
                                                                                                    • Donnie Ware, ABF Freight System

                                                                                                    “No two groups have a stronger and more consistent presence on our nation's highways than law enforcement officers and American truckers,” said ATA President and CEO Chris Spear.“Therein lies a strategic opportunity for greater collaboration, increased communication, and new bonds. The incredible depth and breadth of experience represented on this board will be an invaluable asset for our industry, the law enforcement community, and the safety of the motoring public alike.”