10 finalists chosen for Transition Trucking contest

Updated Sep 5, 2021
51276782701 3d330b1885 C

Ten company drivers have been named finalists in a contest aimed at recognizing new drivers who formerly served in the U.S. military. 

FASTPORT recently announced its Top 10 finalists for “Transition Trucking: Driving for Excellence," which recognizes drivers who have made the successful transition from active duty to driving for a commercial fleet. 

The top 10 drivers, listed with their military branch of service and current truck fleet, include:

  • Steven Brown/U.S. Navy/EPES Transport System
  • Lacresha Daniels/U.S. Navy/PRIME Inc.
  • Marcus Ellis/U.S. Air Force/Stevens Transport
  • William Gamez/U.S. Army, Army National Guard/Roehl Transport
  • Scott McFadden/U.S. Navy/Melton Truck Lines
  • Jimmy Reddell/U.S. Army, Army Reserves/Stevens Transport
  • James C. Rose/U.S. Marine Corps/PRIME Inc.
  • Christopher Slindee/U.S. Army/Knight Transportation
  • Brad Stonebraker/U.S. Army/Melton Truck Lines
  • Justin Utt/U.S. Marine Corps Reserve/Swift Transportation

For the sixth consecutive year, Kenworth has teamed with the FASTPORT Trucking Track Mentoring Program and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation’s Hiring our Heroes Program to support “Transition Trucking: Driving for Excellence.”

Kenworth will provide a T680 with a 76-inch sleeper as the program’s award to this year’s overall winner. The T680 features the complete PACCAR Powertrain with PACCAR MX-13 engine, PACCAR TX-12 automated transmission, and PACCAR DX-40 tandem rear axles.

“We have an impressive group of drivers selected as finalists in the Transition Trucking: Driving for Excellence program. Kenworth Truck Company thanks them for their military service to the country and appreciates their dedication on the road in pursuit of their new profession as truck drivers,” said Genevieve Bekkerus, Kenworth marketing director.

Drivers were nominated by trucking companies that made a hiring commitment and pledge to hire veterans on truckingtrack.org, members of the National Association of Publicly Funded Truck Driving Schools, or Commercial Vehicle Training Association member school.  

To qualify, drivers had to meet three eligibility requirements:

  • Must have been active military or member of the National Guard or Reserve
  • Graduated from PTDI-certified, NAPFTDS or CVTA member driver training school, with a valid CDL
  • First hired in a trucking position between January 1, 2020 and July 31, 2021.

The top three finalists in the “Transition Trucking: Driving for Excellence” program will be announced at the MHC Road Ready Center in Chillicothe, Ohio, on Oct. 6, following a recognition event and tour of the adjacent Kenworth Chillicothe manufacturing plant. A popular vote will take place online from Oct. 28 until Veteran’s Day on Nov. 11, then the ultimate winner will be determined by a selection committee.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
The ALL NEW Rand Tablet
Presented by Rand McNally

The winner will be announced on Dec. 17 at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce in Washington, D.C.