$25,000 top prize in Company Driver of the Year contest

driver of the yearm2017

The search is on for the 2017 Company Driver of the Year.

Truckers News and the Truckload Carriers Association are seeking nominations for the award in the annual contest that honors one safe and professional company driver with $25,000. Two runners-up receive $2,500.

The contest is sponsored by Cummins and Love’s Travel Stops.

2016 Company Driver of the Year Murray Manuliak, who drives for Bison Transport2016 Company Driver of the Year Murray Manuliak, who drives for Bison Transport

Nominations will be accepted until 5 p.m. Nov. 10. The winner will be announced at TCA’s annual convention March 25-28, in Kissimmee, Florida.

In addition, Truckers News’ sister site Overdrive is seeking nominations for the Owner-Operator of the Year award, which also comes with a $25,000 cash prize.

 Nominations can be submitted at this link.

Company drivers must be nominated by the motor carriers that employ them, while owner operators may be nominated by themselves, spouses or by carriers they have been leased to for a period of three or more years.

Nominees must demonstrate a safe driving record with a minimum of one million consecutive accident-free miles, a strong work ethic, and a desire to improve their community and the image of the trucking industry. In addition to providing proof of operating information, work history, and safety record, nominees are asked to write a 300-word essay explaining why they are good “trucking citizens” and should be a candidate for the grand prize. Owner-operator nominees are also required to provide documentation such as equipment specifications, business plans and financial statements.

A panel of judges will select the three finalists for each contest, to be announced in January. Each of the six finalists will receive an all-expense-paid trip to attend TCA’s Annual Convention, scheduled for March 25-28, at the Gaylord Palms Resort in Kissimmee, Florida, where one grand prizewinner will be selected for each contest.

 See the complete rules for the Company Driver of the Year contest.