FedEx driver is ‘Mr. Safety’ in Wisconsin

June 18, 2017
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook
Jim Duffy, FedEx Freight driver

Jim Duffy, a driver for FedEx Freight, is Wisconsin’s Grand Champion. (Image Courtesy of Wisconsin Motor Carriers Association)

FedEx Freight driver Jim Duffy is Wisconsin’s grand champion and the recipient of the Ray Newberry “Mr. Safety” Award at the annual Wisconsin Truck Driving Championship.

This year’s championships were held June 2-3 in Pewaukee.

The Mr. Safety Award recognizes the driver with the highest combination score on the driving course and written test.

Duffy and Wisconsin’s other award winners will represent the state at the American Trucking Association’s National Truck Driving Championships, Aug. 9-12 in Orlando, Florida.

The winners, by category, were: 


Bruce Brewen of Hogan Transports is Missouri’s champion

On to national competition

Grand Champion: Jim Duffy, FedEx Freight

Ray Newberry “Mr. Safety” Award: Jim Duffy, FedEx Freight

3-Axle: Jeff Langenhahn, XPO Logistics

4-Axle: Jim Duffy, FedEx Freight

5-Axle: Paul Mastalir, Contract Transport Services

Flatbed: Carl Ziehlke, Walmart Transportation

Tank: Gary Pingel, Old Dominion Freight Lines

Sleeper: Duane Tautges, Badger State Wisconsin

Twins: Michael Welch, N&M Transfer Co., Inc.

Straight Truck: Brent Glassenapp, FedEx Express

Rookie of the Year: Zachary Bogstad, FedEx Freight

Pre-Trip Inspection Award: Nick Jarntowski, Old Dominion Freight Lines

Team Award: N&M Transfer Co., Inc.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook

There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *