Mississippi trucking competition crowns FedEx driver as grand champion

user-gravatar Headshot
Updated May 7, 2018
Scott Osbourne was named Grand Champion at the MTA’s annual trucking championship.Scott Osbourne was named Grand Champion at the MTA’s annual trucking championship.

Over 100 drivers competed in the Mississippi Trucking Association’s (MTA) annual truck driving championships, held April 28 in Gulfport. FedEx Freight driver Scott Osbourne was named the Grand Champion while Christopher Field, a Miller Transporters driver, was crowned Rookie of the Year.

During the trucking competition, MTA also announced its Driver of the Year. Dale Allen Blair, a driver for Miller Transporters, received the honor. Blair is from Petal, Mississippi, and he works out of the fleet’s Pritchard, Alabama terminal. He has over 3.5 million accident-free miles.

The winners were:

Grand Champion: Scott Osbourne, FedEx Freight

Rookie of the Year: Christopher Field, Miller

Team Trophy: Walmart

3-Axle: Terry Holcomb, FedEx Freight

4-Axle: Darres Stokes, Walmart

5-Axle: Christopher Gaston, FedEx Freight

Flatbed: Todd Wilemon, ABF Freight

5-Axle Sleeper Berth: John Kitchens, FedEx Freight

Tanker: Scott Osbourne, FedEx Freight

Twins: Randy Byrd, FedEx Freight

Straight Truck: Stevie Armstrong, YRC Freight

Step Van: Don Smith, FedEx Ground

2018 Fleet Safety Awards:

Intercity (0.5-2 million miles): ABF Freight

Intercity (Over 2 million miles): Miller

Local (0-1 million miles): Holmes

Local (Over 1 million miles): Old Dominion